Highend channel strip workhorse???
dope5050
6th March 2012
Old 6th March 2012
Gear interested

Highend channel strip workhorse???

Hi guys,

Im fairly new to recording five years teaching myself never worked on anything commercial. Just looking for a bit of advice and also clear up some confusion I have had with what people here are posting.

Im after a high end channel strip great mic pre mic/line/instrument inputs great EQ and also a compressor. It will be used mainly for
1.Kick drum compression sample based mainly out of the box & back in.
2.Bass lines from a bass guitar or virtual instrument bass sounds same scenario out of the box & back in other than the bass guitar obviously.
3.Female singing vocals.
4.Male rapping vocals.
So basically Im after an allrounder (work horse) i may want to use it on other things later as my projects get larger or more professional.
By the way I compose electronic & hip hop style music as im sure you all guessed by now.

My budget is between $1500.00-$3000.00 US brand new prefered more than likely. Ive had suggestions from a few knowledgable friends & people i trust & they tell me I would be best with an Avalon 737sp but thats where my confusion comes in everyone on here knocks it in every post & other forums stating "Oh you can get better for the money its not as good as they make it out to be" just to quote a few.

So id hate to spend $2000.00 on something for a small project studio to realise I could have got way better for my price range so I ask of your help & suggestions guys they would mean alot. What would be better than the avalon 737sp for my needs and price range listed above?

Im also open to having separate gear in the chain such as an SSl Pre/EQ & a UA Compressor or something just an example. Thanks guys for reading & look foward to any input on my confusion.
6th March 2012
Old 6th March 2012
Gear maniac

API 7600.

Great all rounder.
6th March 2012
Old 6th March 2012
Gear addict