Login / Register

Did anybody trade in their ProTools HD setup to ProTools Native?
New Reply
Subscribe
pieter
4th March 2012
Old 4th March 2012
Gear maniac

Did anybody trade in their ProTools HD setup to ProTools Native?

Hello all,

I have been using a ProTools HD2 setup for a couple of years now.

The thing is I am a private studio and don't like to pay a couple of thousand every few years to upgrade the ProTools cards (I already spent a lot on simple migration from PCI to PCIe).

Recently I added an API 1608 to my setup (yes indeed) which means I am using less and less plugins. Also i am not running super high track count sessions and i could spent he HDX upgrade money for extramodules in my Burl Mothership...

As such I was thinking of switching to a ProTools Native setup.

Did anybody take the same route? Any ideas you want to share?

Many thanks,

Pieter
pieter
5th March 2012
Old 5th March 2012
Gear maniac

I know there has been a lot of threads on this but i was looking for people with similar cases than mine...
5th March 2012
Old 5th March 2012
Lives for gear

I did just that (HD2 to native) and couldn't be happier.
A.
LPP
5th March 2012
Old 5th March 2012
LPP
Gear maniac

I did on one of my rigs. Liking it a lot so far. I haven't put it through its paces yet, but it has been responsive and sounds great.
5th March 2012
Old 5th March 2012
70% Coffee, 30% Beer

Send a message via Skype™ to Doc Mixwell
Avid's HD Native PCie, is a fantastic product in it's own right. I have had a couple clients trade in their Legacy TDM HD cards, [old PCI Core and Accell Cards] and make the move from a G5 to an Intel Mac Pro, with the HD Native PCIe system, and they are all flying FAST. The raw native juice from a g5 to a mac pro is kinda ridiculous..
5th March 2012
Old 5th March 2012
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roc Mixwell View Post