New Reply
Subscribe
KT1
16th December 2011
Old 16th December 2011
Lives for gear

New workflow - It's time to go outboard - Need advice

Slutz,

I have been going back and forth with the idea of outboard. I continue to upgrade the quality of my ITB applications and plugins but am consistently reminded by the outboard workflow which i have been exposed to while in a number of sessions. This isn't a sound quality debate. I just love the hands on and listen approach - Grab knobs and turn them.

I am not an engineer and am production focussed. I predominantly work with digital audio. Post recording or sample/audio recorded from analogue synths and other basic instrumentation.

I like to work in ableton live and am currently using an RME FF 800 interface. Currently i have my synths going straight into the line I/O on the interface.

So:

I am awaiting my delivery of my UBK FATSO and will also be investing in the clariphonic.

I am looking for ways to fatten and treat audio within my box in a number of flavours. Comp/EQ.

This is what i have in mind:

-BAE 1073 - It has DI so i can run synths/samples through it. Plus i have access to the EQ and pre.

- Chandler TG2 EMI/Abbey Road Special edition dual mono mic/lineDI pre:
I'm thinking i can drive this puppy to get some nice harmonic distortion. Again DI which fits putpose

Chandler TG1 - EMI Abbey Road Special edition stero Comp.
Limiter/compressor - had a harmonic distortion function.

Question: So it's obvious that I am looking for some compression/saturation/distortion and EQ. The Pre's are a bonus - I'm really all about sound shaping tools. I mostly make urban music and look for MOJO machines hence the valved analogue approach.

It would be great to have this in a nice small rack that i can transport.

I figure with the fatso - i get some compression flavours and saturation
Clariphonic - EQ
TG1- Limit/comp with some harmonic distortion - another comp flavour with some mojo or can just run for distortion.