![]() | All Advertisers |
| | #1 |
| Gear interested Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 2
Thread Starter | Neumann U67
So, I've been searching for a U67 for a while and this one recently popped up for sale. The seller is asking 1700 USD and I am suspicious of why its so low. He said it comes with a new power supply and cable which he naturally leaves out of the photos. Just wanted to know some opinions based on the pictures he sent me and how I would go about testing it. I've attached the photos he sent me |
| | |
| | #2 |
| Moderator Joined: Nov 2008 Location: UK
Posts: 4,686
|
it's a u67 but theres no way it's a genuine sale at $1700 and the pictures are so small it's impossible to tell anything from them so i'd say it's either a scam or it doesn't work or something else sinister where did you find it for sale?
__________________ Souviens-toi que tu vas mourir... |
| | |
| | #3 |
| Gear interested Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 2
Thread Starter |
Yea I know it doesn't sound right, but he said i could come by and test it if i wanted to. So basically how would I test it and are their possibly any very good looking chinese copies? The guy from the sound of it doesn't seem like a scam. I found his ad in a local newspaper so i replied and he sent me some pictures. Also even if it was broken wouldn't it be worth it to get it fixed at that price?
|
| | |
| | #4 | |
| Lives for gear Joined: Jun 2008 Location: Japan
Posts: 1,711
| Quote:
If he's legit he'll have no reason to refuse, unless he needs the money quickly. | |
| | |
| | #5 |
| Gear maniac Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 296
|
It doesnt look chinese, but its very hard to tell from these pictures, drive to him and look at the mic, serial numbers, components inside, if you´re not familiar to what the inside should look like then it might be risky, otherwise I`d have bought it ![]() I dont think anybody who owns a U67 puts a chinese capsule inside, but if thats the case, I would have bought it anyway and replaced the capsule with a genuine one! It would still be worth it, if you can verify the rest of it to be genuine that is! |
| | |
| | #6 |
| Lives for gear Joined: May 2007 Location: London
Posts: 2,800
|
If it's from Craigslist UK 99% chance its a scam.
|
| | |
| | #7 |
| Lives for gear Joined: Jan 2005 Location: Burlington, Vermont USA
Posts: 942
|
If he knows that pictures of the guts are worth taking, and he knows that the cable is newer than the mic, and he has access to the Internet, he also knows he could get three times his asking price on a bad day. If you buy it you're as gullible as they come. Posted via the Gearslutz iPhone app
__________________ Joe Egan EMP Colchester, VT USA www.eganmedia.com "I feel more like I did when I first got here than I do now." |
| | |
| | #8 |
| member no 666 Joined: Jun 2002 Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 10,108
|
If its local go check it out... if its not local, investing in a plane ticket to go check it out is still a lot less expensive than getting scammed. If it is a scam, chances are the seller won't set up a meeting in which case you're out nothing... if it isn't a scam you may have landed on a wonderful deal. Even if its not working, has a dead or dying capsule but all of the other requisite parts [the photos look like its the real deal though I have to say I haven't studied them all that closely - at first glance it looks right] even if you have to put in some additional money to get it ultra happy... still could very well be a great investment [should the deal be real]. BTW... the only two guys in the US I would trust with it are Tony Merrill at Stephen Paul Audio or Klaus Heyne from German Master Works... but that's only because I've had experience with most of the other guys that work on microphones in the US...
__________________ CN Fletcher Professional Affiliations: R/E/P Professional Recording Engineer and Producer forums - serious hobbyists welcome SoundPure.com mwagener wrote on Sat, 11 September 2004 14:33 We are selling emotions, there are no emotions in a grid Roscoe Ambel once said: Pro-Tools is to audio what fluorescent is to light |
| | |
| | #9 |
| Lives for gear Joined: Oct 2002 Location: Germany
Posts: 821
|
be carefull, check them out in person .... But I bought a U67 /w PSU from a guy in berlin for 600€ (about 800$) a year ago .... so deals are still out there ... wolfgang
__________________ toolhouse studios, germany toolhouse-mobile, record everywhere ...... www.tool-house.com /// www.toolhouse-mobile.de |
| | |
| | #10 |
| Lives for gear Joined: Nov 2006 Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,233
|
I own a U67 and this one looks similar from what I can see of the pics. I doubt that the Chinese would make vintage looking resistors and circuit boards like the ones used in an original U67. However, as suggested, go and check it out for yourself. Good luck.
__________________ [url]www.aisle6.com.au |
| | |
| | #11 |
| Gear addict Joined: Dec 2006 Location: Utah
Posts: 361
| |
| | |
| | #12 |
| Gear maniac Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 285
|
ita a scam is posted in craiglist miami
|
| | |