Old 14th February 2011
Lives for gear

Coles 4038 mic

Hello my fellow slutz,

I was just wondering what peoples opinions are on this mic, because I'm thinking of getting one myself soon. The sources I would be using the mic on would mainly be acoustic and electric guitar at the moment.

The reason I ask is because I have never used one before and I just want to know what people who have used them think of them. Anyone out there recommend these little beauties?
Old 14th February 2011
Gear nut

We are fortunate to have a respectable selection of mics. While we prefer other mics for acoustic guitar duties, the 4038 is a consistent go to mic for electric guitar cab (I personally love them blended with a 57) and which also sees use on OH. Great mics that you very likely will be quite pleased. If you decide that the 4038 doesn't suit your needs, resale is relatively quick and painless.
Old 14th February 2011
Lives for gear

Thanks for the input mate, means a lot.
Old 14th February 2011
Gear Head

The 4038 is a fantastic mic for drum OH duties, even if it's just a mono OH that you blend in with your normal stereo selection. The 4038 captures the cymbals in a fantastic way, really smoothing them out. They do lack a bit in the high end, but the mic takes EQ like a champ. I would definitely recommend picking one up if you're on the fence. I have never used it on acoustic, but on electric it's very good.
Old 14th February 2011
one of my fav mics on a lot of sources. Sweet in all the right ways.
Old 14th February 2011
Lives for gear

Cheers for the replies guys. Keep 'em coming.
Old 14th February 2011
Lives for gear

hey
i have pair. and i really love them. but thats not on guitars. actually, i tracked acoustic guitar with them for a bit. but that was a very brightsounding taylor. now, that was a perfect match. on a martin it did not work as well..... since it sounds good in the first place. taylors are unusable pieces of sh_t to me. even the customs and all of them.