Does increase in mic input gain increase proximity effect
New Reply
Subscribe
KevWind
7th March 2010
Old 7th March 2010
Lives for gear

Does increase in mic input gain increase proximity effect

Not being an engineer I thought I'd ask here after extensive searching There is a discussion on another forum and either I am confused or I am being told incorrect data The question arose Will proximity effect and off axis pic up increase, as you increase the input gain to the mic.
I thought that as you increased input gain that the mic would therefore respond with more output and that in turn would have the effect of increasing the prox effect and off axis pic up ???? however at least two people responded with statements like this
"Proximity effect has nothing to do with recording level. It has to do with how close a directional mic, whether cardioid or figure 8, is to the sound source. The amount of proximity effect doesn't change with input level. Neither does the amount of off-axis pick-up. Both of these are inherent characteristics of the mic itself."
Where I thought that as you increase the input gain you would be increasing the amount of " Inherent characteristics " of the mic. and increase how much of that you are going to hear coming from the mic on the recording ?? Yes ? No ?

Enjoy the Journey --- Kev

WindWeaver Music
https://soundcloud.com/kevwind
7th March 2010
Old 7th March 2010
Lives for gear

My Recordings/Credits

The mic pre will will be adding gain in a more or less linear fashion. so the effect of various miking techniques should not really change based on any type of linear gain after the fact.

6-day Recording Boot Camp in LOS ANGELES, August 4-9, 2014
6-day Recording Boot Camp in LOS ANGELES, October 20-25, 2014

KevWind
7th March 2010
Old 7th March 2010
Lives for gear

Hey thanks Any one else ????
7th March 2010
Old 7th March 2010
Gear maniac

I would answer that as a no. Proximity in my opinion is all about mic treatment.
Pre gain is level.