Alternative to API 2500 on drum mix bus
trashman
23rd November 2009
Old 23rd November 2009
Lives for gear

Alternative to API 2500 on drum mix bus

I'm thinking about moving on from the API 2500 because of the gain reduction issue. Looks like some units are fine, while others have continued problems. I think API should do the right thing by making the process no cost to the customer ... But they havent.

I have an api 200 series rack, so I can still get the api opamp mojo.

I know what the 2500 does it quite unique, but it isnt the only mix bus comp that's good on drums. I have an ssl g384, portico and drawmer but they dont do it for me on drums.

For those that know the 2500, is there a comp that you can recommend that has a similar attitude and dirt?

In advance: I did not like the Smart C2.

Obsidian? Pendulum? Chandlers? Distressors? Aurora? Manley vari-mu? *Et al????

Thanks guys *
24th November 2009
Old 24th November 2009
Lives for gear

Unfortunately I have no experience with the 2500 but I've used my Vari-Mu on the drum bus many times. It sounds pretty huge. - paul
24th November 2009
Old 24th November 2009
i'm a big fan of the ssl g on the drum bus, but have also reached many a time for a couple of ua 1176's or an 1178. a neve 33609 for the soupy thing can be nice. the tonelux txc had an almost ssl channel compressor like vibe. very punchy when you get into over compression.
24th November 2009
Old 24th November 2009

I never liked the 2500 on the mix buss.... But, I LOVE it on the drum buss.

I typically use the Aurora GTC2 on the mix buss, you may like what it does on drums as well.. But, I don't really use it there much, because it's permanently strapped on the 2 buss.
24th November 2009
Old 24th November 2009
Gear addict

Chandler

TG-1

test the plug
if you like it buy the hardware
200% the mojo...
24th November 2009
Old 24th November 2009
Hmm that is a tough, the 2500 to me is a very distinct sound for drum bus, and most things for that manner..