Setting Up Our Sound System
xadrummer09
17th October 2008
Old 17th October 2008
Gear interested

Setting Up Our Sound System

OK so heres the deal. I play for our youth band at church, and unfortunately ever since our intern left, our sound system has gone to shambles. Its not wired properly (i.e. certain amps aren't being used, for some reason our equalizer isn't hooked up etc...). Me being a drummer, i know a little bit about how to hook up a sound system but not that much. All i know is we have the following equipment:
  • 2 - JBL JRX125 Dual 15" 2-Way Speaker Cabinet
  • 2 - Yamaha SW118V Club Series V Subwoofers
  • 3 - Yamaha SM12V Club Series V Monitors
  • dual 15 band eq
  • BBE Max-X3 2-Way Stereo/3-Way Mono Crossover
  • 3 Crown XLS Series Amps
  • Crown CE 1000 (i think it might be broken fault light blinks when i turn it on)
basically if possible i need an "english" version of how to hook all this, so we can have speakers running as speakers, subs running as subs, and have monitors running as monitors and be able to control levels for us on stage. If you need more info about equipment just let me know and i'll do the best i can to figure it out. we have a Live Wire Advantage 16-Channel/4-Return Stage Snake on stage. but like i said if at all possible keep the terminology as simple as possible for my sake lol. thanks in advance

-Eric
17th October 2008
Old 17th October 2008
Gear interested

Well I think this thread shouldn't be in the "high end" forum but here ya go:

Basic configuration. Main mixer output > EQ > Crossover > Amps > Speakers.

I would use your setup in a 2-way crossover configuration since your JBL tops are not bi-amped. Basically...the low output from the crossover would go to one of your amps, then amp wired to the subs. The high/mid outputs go to another amp then to your JBL tops.