ProTools HD - Hardware I/O latency
Old 13th March 2008
Gear nut

ProTools HD - Hardware I/O latency

I'm fairly new to pro tools hd and I have a question. I have bunch of outboard gear that I'm trying to use as inserts or as a send returning to aux channel. The question is: what about the latency of harware compressors/ eqs etc? Even with delay compensation enabled I still hear some latency. There is a way to enter latency compensation values in I/O setup window but how do you calculate that value? I'm using a lot of parallel compression using external gear and this bothers me a bit.

Thx,

Chris
Old 13th March 2008
Lives for gear

If you do a send returning to a different aux channel PT latency compensation won't work. You have to do this as an insert. If you have 192 interface the hardware latency comp is already set up, otherwise you can manually enter values either per track or in the IO window per channel. To figure out your DA-AD latency play a track through the DA-AD loop and record it back. compare the waveform of the new track to the original and that will tell you the latency delay. However, with some converters, like apogee they have less latency than the 192's so you have to enter the offset value for each individual track -see their website. You should read the manual on this. It's important to understand how this all works to keep your tracks in correct phase with each other. "Automatic" Delay Comp is not really so automatic.

Also, some plugins, like the MDW don't report correct values to delay comp -its off by 1 sample so you'll hear phase issues with parallel tracks. I've heard some of the Waves have this issue as well.

Any latency your analog gear has is only measurable in the nanoseconds -way less than 1 sample.
Old 13th March 2008
Gear nut

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zep Dude View Post