ebay u47 - Gearslutz.com

Gearslutz.com

All Advertisers
Go Back   Gearslutz.com > The Forums > High end


ebay u47

New Reply New Reply Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 26th April 2004   #1
Gear maniac
 
jasonlivermore's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: ft collins co
Posts: 275

Thread Starter
ebay u47

******//cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...184759761&rd=1

Does anyone have any thoughts on this one? Transaction history is mostly video games. He also has two neve pres for sale.

Jason Livermore
jasonlivermore is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2004   #2
Lives for gear
 
echorec's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2003
Location: Europe
Posts: 1,256

That´s a tricky one. Not the typical fraud auction. I think the seller actually has the item but why the "The price I want to obtain is 700 GBP. Please contact me before bidding, no exception." Hasn´t he heard about reserve price auctions?

Contact him and see if he feels for real.
echorec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2004   #3
Lives for gear
 
obostic's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: On the Move
Posts: 619

I saw that one too. Looks a bit strange, but who knows. If you notice his feedback ratings, its only from sellers no buyers and at very low cost.

I would proceed with caution. dfegad
__________________
Ozzie
Sandstorm Entertainment, Inc.
obostic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2004   #4
Gear maniac
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 250

House of Pain

Seems to me that anyone who transfers real money to a foreign country in advance of receiving a mic with an unknown state of its costly subcomponents must be into pain.

How many clients have I talked to who were burned from these type of transactions!
Even assuming that a real mic shows up one day at the buyer's door, what about the $1200.- VF14 tube? the $800.- K47 capsule (or an M7 knock-off)? Circuitry all stock? Cable and swivel mount original? NG power supply stock?

No mic is as price sensitive to its state of originality as the U47.

You asked for advice, and here it is: Don't do it.

Kind regards,
Klaus Heyne
Klaus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2004   #5
Gear nut
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 119

Don't do it.

I'm absolutely certain the mic pictured does NOT belong to that seller. That photo is of a mic sold in a legitimate transaction on ebay last year (and the current owner isn't selling).

It's disturbing that a few months after the legit sale, the exact same photo appeared in yet another fraudulent auction . So, this is try number 2 to scam someone, unless I've missed one.

Buyer beware!!!!!!!!!
22busy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2004   #6
Gear maniac
 
Chad's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2003
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 218

That set of 3 pics has been used in fraudulent auctions numerous times. He wants you to contact him before bidding so he can offer it to you privately. Its a hijacked account.
Chad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2004   #7
Lives for gear
 
C.Lambrechts's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: Ans (Liege) Belgium
Posts: 3,286


agree ... don't do it.
C.Lambrechts is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2004   #8
Gear Head
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 52

His FEEDBACK says it all! Avoid! dfegad
jm1999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2004   #9
Lives for gear
 
Joined: Dec 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 816

He doesn't say anything about the dent. I remember seeing this particular mic a while ago, and the legit description said something about that dent.
dale116dot7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2004   #10
Gear addict
 
gear is cool's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: seattle
Posts: 364

hey jason,
dont buy it...
get one from someone here in the states..
mike @ mistyhill audio in austin has more than a few...
i got mine from him...
we just played w/ the pixies in spokane..
it was so rad!!!
lata
joe
gear is cool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2004   #11
Gear maniac
 
jasonlivermore's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: ft collins co
Posts: 275

Thread Starter
thanks joe,

Just heard you new cd, great job. Did you use the u47 on your vocals, or the u89 again? I wouldn't buy this one, looks to sketchy. I've been loving my e47 though.

Jason Livermore
jasonlivermore is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2004   #12
Lives for gear
 
echorec's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2003
Location: Europe
Posts: 1,256

Looks like ebay pulled the auction.
echorec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2004   #13
Gear addict
 
gear is cool's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: seattle
Posts: 364

jason,
thanks!
i mostly used a telefunken u47, and a neumann u47 fet...
i just picked up a vintage rack of api's
2-512b
2-550a
2-560b
also a royer 122 which is a good sounding mic
take care
joe
gear is cool is offline   Reply With Quote
New Reply New Reply Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook  Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter  Submit Thread to LinkedIn LinkedIn 



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tubes tests Flea U47 and U48 jayfield High end 43 26th December 2011 07:06 PM
Sonic HD turnkey system up on eBay bassman Mastering forum 1 16th July 2007 01:40 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:54 PM.

Home - Search Forum - Contact Us - Terms Of Use - Advertise on Gearslutz - All Advertisers - Archive - Top
 
 
Powered by vBulletin®
Gearslutz.com LTD - UK Company Number 7597610.
Registered Office - 35 Ballards Lane, London, N3 1XW.
Hosted by Nimbus Hosting.

SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.