Login / Register

AD/DA converter help...would I benefit from an upgrade?
New Reply
Subscribe
tradarama
9th January 2007
Old 9th January 2007
Gear maniac

AD/DA converter help...would I benefit from an upgrade?

I am a newbie and have an Aardvark Q10 with its card into my Carillon computer system w/ Cubase. I am now moving away from the Q10 built in preamps and running line in with higher end premaps (Pacifica, Germanium, 737). Questions:

1. Would I benefit from an upgrade? How aweful would I notice the Q10 being.

2. (Be gentle I'm new) What would I need? AD COnverter & Card? Pls give me examples. Also I'm confused about if I need something separate when going DA.

3. The Q10 has a computer based mixer that I use...what would I use for the mixer if I upgraded.

Guys I really appreciate your help.

PS I have a pretty deep base of experience with high end guitar amps and guitars if anyone wants to pick my brain on that front.

Jim
9th January 2007
Old 9th January 2007
Banned

Quote:
Originally Posted by tradarama View Post
I am a newbie and have an Aardvark Q10 with its card into my Carillon computer system w/ Cubase. I am now moving away from the Q10 built in preamps and running line in with higher end premaps (Pacifica, Germanium, 737). Questions:

1. Would I benefit from an upgrade? How aweful would I notice the Q10 being.

2. (Be gentle I'm new) What would I need? AD COnverter & Card? Pls give me examples. Also I'm confused about if I need something separate when going DA.

3. The Q10 has a computer based mixer that I use...what would I use for the mixer if I upgraded.

Guys I really appreciate your help.

PS I have a pretty deep base of experience with high end guitar amps and guitars if anyone wants to pick my brain on that front.

Jim