Kick Drum Phase Flippin
Old 16th March 2011
Gear Head

Kick Drum Phase Flippin

I read a tip somewhere about switching the phase on the kick drum. Did it and was pretty surprised at the low end enhancement. For some reason I only every messed with the under snare mic and the overheads. Now I'm flipping everything back and forth. Boom!
Old 16th March 2011
Lives for gear

Yup.

It's funny, I just said this on Twitter earlier today, although as you can see I oversimplified for dramatic effect.

I master records for a living.

Phase and gain are the two things that musician engineers (as opposed to engineer engineers) tend not to grasp. Both can ruin a mix so easily.

- c
Old 17th March 2011
Gear Head

For what it's worth, I always put a Medium Time Adjuster insert on every drum kit channel before I begin mixing and spend a good 20 minutes getting everything pushing and pulling together. I get better results implementing these various delays on each channel (usually less than about 400 samples) than just using the polarity invert which tends to be a pretty crude solution in my experience, although it's entirely necessary in some cases.

I also don't really see it as a matter of taste, i.e. it's either in phase (so to speak) or it isn't, so I complete this task during the editing stage prior to mixing. Ideally I'd love to get this right during tracking by tweaking the mic positions but this is usually quite difficult with a one-man production.

Last edited by Herschelle Cecil; 17th March 2011 at 01:35 AM.. Reason: Semantics. I don't want to start another Phase vs Polarity debate.
Old 17th March 2011
Lives for gear

I'm constantly mixing records and more and more of these records are DIY recordings. I spend a lot of time correlating the phase between tracks. This is an issue that seems to have been forgotten, or never learned. Badly, or wrongly, driven preamps are my second dilema.