New Reply
Subscribe
GilWave
19th August 2008
Old 19th August 2008
Lives for gear

Send a message via AIM to GilWave Send a message via Yahoo to GilWave
Tony Levin is a MONSTER. King Crimson is a Monster Zoo

I had the distinct pleasure of seeing King Crimson Friday night at the exceptional Nokia Theater in Manhattan, one of three sold out shows. A fourth was added to accommodate all the NY area fans

I had seats in the 8th row, near the center. Pat Mastelotto was joined on drums and percussion by Gavin Harrison - together they were astounding when they were pounding, and the FOH engineer nailed the drum mix. Incredible.

Tony Levin was nothing short of a revelation. Now, I don't normally gush when speaking of performers, and I been around long enough to have seen Zeppelin and Who shows when they both had their original drummers. For that matter, I have been to many Yes and Rush shows in my life (I started playing bass in 1972) so I've seen more than a few good bass players.

Tony just has a style and mastery of the instrument (bass as well as Chapman Stick) that - to me, anyway - stands above. His interaction with the band, especially Pat (who also plays with Tony in The Tony Levin Band) and Adrian Belew is a joy to watch, and seems rare compared to the typical full-on rock productions that have been touring for the past ten years or so.

When he plays the Stick, it becomes more an extension of the artist rather than just his instrument of choice. You'd have to see him play it to truly understand.

Which is the point of this post - if you have the opportunity to catch King Crimson live, I highly suggest you do so - you will see and hear actual, live musicians playing actual, live instruments - some with signal processing and effects - with a great degree of skill and dexterity and even more importantly...

with real talent, and a passion for the music they are playing!!! Yes, it's true!!! Even in 2008, such a thing is possible.