PSU: switching or linear one?
Old 28th May 2014
Lives for gear

PSU: switching or linear one?

Good day, geaksluts members.

I have a simple question about PSUs.
Is it still really better to use classic linear power supply for audio-related circuits (say, good mic preamps) versus using good SMPS? I can see no technical reasons or benefits, but i'm not an engineer, i'm a technician, maybe i cannot see the whole picture, the small but important details.

I know a lot of good examples of using SMPS in audio, even some top-class poweramps uses them, and some good mastering engineers use them, i know a lot of nice working AD/DA converters powered by SMPS...and still i heard a lot of sceptical comments on this topic from some people.

I think we all need summarised technical advice on problems and advantages of using both PS types.

Thank you.
Old 28th May 2014
Lives for gear

Hi
A switchmode supply can be good but you may have to put considerable effort into making sure the switching frequency and harmonics do not appear on ANY wiring to or from the supply. This often means a basic 'switcher' module might have to be put into a larger metal enclosure with EFFECTIVE filtering on all terminals. To do this properly can make it expensive and you have to know what you are doing.
Linear supplies tend to be easier to 'tame' as the possibility of high frequency 'noise' radiation is less, although not guaranteed. As the power transformer is larger than for a switchmode design, it is possible for this to radiate mains frequency 'hum' into nearby circuitry.
You have noted that there are good and bad designs and you have to look at the various merits of both technologies and weigh up the costs for the WHOLE setup.
Matt S
Old 31st May 2014
Lives for gear

Thank you very much for your answer, Matt.

I have a plan to change a dead PSU for 8 mic preamps (opamps+THAT1510)...nothing special, classic +15V, -15V rated at 3A, and 48V @0.2A.