Login / Register
 
Non-popping condensor mic switcher
New Reply
Subscribe
teslapiper
Thread Starter
#1
5th May 2013
Old 5th May 2013
  #1
Gear interested
 
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 6

Thread Starter
teslapiper is offline
Non-popping condensor mic switcher

Hi, i am new to the forum. I am trying to build a mic switcher that will work with phantom powered condensor mics. but my current builds are popping. i am using a DPDT stomp switch and I have tried combining all the grounds. didn't seem to make much difference. If you have any ideas i would love to hear them.
#2
5th May 2013
Old 5th May 2013
  #2
Lives for gear
 
Richard Crowley's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Portland OR USA
Posts: 3,227

Richard Crowley is online now
You will likely need to reveal exactly what you mean by "mic switcher". Likely you have something specific in mind. But there are so many kinds, it could take all week for us to guess what kind you are talking about.

Do you mean something that switches between several different microphones to a single input?
Do you mean something like a mute switch to turn a microphone on and off?
teslapiper
Thread Starter
#3
5th May 2013
Old 5th May 2013
  #3
Gear interested
 
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 6

Thread Starter
teslapiper is offline
i have two consensor mic i am want to be able to switch between on one channel. 2 mics in, 1 out.
#4
6th May 2013
Old 6th May 2013
  #4
Lives for gear
 
mjrippe's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 791

mjrippe is offline
You would probably need a separate phantom power supply that is always connected to both mics. The switch would then only switch the audio to the mic pre input.
#5
6th May 2013
Old 6th May 2013
  #5
Lives for gear
 
Richard Crowley's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Portland OR USA
Posts: 3,227

Richard Crowley is online now
Or you could try a non-trivial scheme that runs the P48 power to both mics all the time, but only switches the AC signal (i.e. the audio). Or you could use scheme that momentarily mutes the audio output while switching microphones.

Neither of these can be done with a simple switch.
teslapiper
Thread Starter
#6
6th May 2013
Old 6th May 2013
  #6
Gear interested
 
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 6

Thread Starter
teslapiper is offline
i am trying to imagine a way to isolate the 48v from the line and add it back to the mics directly so they stay powered. i know you can you caps to block it somewhat. how would i go about isolating the 48v so i can still use it?
#7
6th May 2013
Old 6th May 2013
  #7
Lives for gear
 
mjrippe's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 791

mjrippe is offline
As I said earlier, you need an external +48v source. You can't use the one from the preamp unless you open it up and disconnect it from the input XLR and run it out of the preamp to your switch box. Even then, it might not have enough current available to run two mics at once.
teslapiper
Thread Starter
#8
6th May 2013
Old 6th May 2013
  #8
Gear interested
 
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 6

Thread Starter
teslapiper is offline
i guess ill try to design some sort of timer circuit that mute the channel first the makes the switch, then un-mutes it. I have never worked with timer before though. ill have to do some research.
#9
8th May 2013
Old 8th May 2013
  #9
Lives for gear
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,512

doulos30 is online now
use an arduino micro and a relay board pretty easy to do that.
#10
8th May 2013
Old 8th May 2013
  #10
Lives for gear
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 6,777

Matt Syson is offline
Hi
To make a unit that truly switches 'silently' will take considerable effort as rather than 'switching' it needs to be a 'fast ramp' where the signal is attenuated over a few milliseconds rather than a 'cut' of a switch / relay.
Any 'hard' switch scheme will at least 'tick' or 'pop' slightly as you have the mic preamp gain amplifying any discontinuity or voltage difference. Even it this were 'silent' the sudden change of sound from the different mics / positioning would still be heard (psycho acoustic response to sudden changes of signal).
Getting phantom to both mics permanently and a 'simple' switch arrangement is probably the least bad possibility.
None of these schemes would need a 'micro' and indeed introducing HF noise source next to mic level signals is a recipe for yet more 'interference'.
Matt S
__________________
Matt S
www.mseaudio.co.uk
New Reply Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook  Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter  Submit Thread to LinkedIn LinkedIn  Submit Thread to Google+ Google+ 
 
Topic:
Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Forum Jump

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.