Login / Register
 
Broken Spring Reverb (Boss RX-100) HELP PLEASE!
New Reply
Subscribe
dillweed4
Thread Starter
#1
24th December 2012
Old 24th December 2012
  #1
Gear maniac
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: London, UK

Thread Starter
dillweed4 is offline
Broken Spring Reverb (Boss RX-100) HELP PLEASE!

I have a great little Boss reverb that I picked up a few years back, trouble is there seems to be a dodgy connection somewhere that makes the spring sound intermittent. I have to bang the reverb box a few times to find the right position for the reverb to stay in a 'working' position, otherwise when I run an instrument through it I just get a dry signal. Take a listen to me banging the box, you can hear the intermittent signal:

https://soundcloud.com/willdorey/broken-spring-reverb

I have looked inside a few times, but my average knowledge of electronics has not been able to detect obvious culprits like loose wires etc... can anyone suggest a possible cause? THANKS
#2
24th December 2012
Old 24th December 2012
  #2
Lives for gear
 
apprenticemart2's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: Old Oswestry
Posts: 579

apprenticemart2 is offline
There's 2 little wires that go to the coils. They are very thin and as the spring/holder swings around inside it pinches the wires against the casing or slices through the wires.
Get inside and have a perv you'll see what I mean.
dillweed4
Thread Starter
#3
27th December 2012
Old 27th December 2012
  #3
Gear maniac
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: London, UK

Thread Starter
dillweed4 is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by apprenticemart2 View Post
There's 2 little wires that go to the coils. They are very thin and as the spring/holder swings around inside it pinches the wires against the casing or slices through the wires.
Get inside and have a perv you'll see what I mean.
Thanks - I'll take a look
#4
29th December 2012
Old 29th December 2012
  #4
Gear nut
 
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 88

hollandturbine is offline
Do you get the same intermittent results regardless of if you are using the front (A) input/output or the rear (B) inputs/outputs?
dillweed4
Thread Starter
#5
17th June 2013
Old 17th June 2013
  #5
Gear maniac
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: London, UK

Thread Starter
dillweed4 is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by hollandturbine View Post
Do you get the same intermittent results regardless of if you are using the front (A) input/output or the rear (B) inputs/outputs?
Hi sorry for very late reply, I'm just trying to fix the reverb again now as its been annoying me so much. Yes the back stereo RCA jacks are intermittent as well.
New Reply Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook  Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter  Submit Thread to LinkedIn LinkedIn  Submit Thread to Google+ Google+ 
 
Topic:
Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Similar Threads
Thread
Thread Starter / Forum
Replies
soupking / So much gear, so little time!
44
Kalara / Remote Possibilities in Acoustic Music & Location Recording
1
nerogtr / Remote Possibilities in Acoustic Music & Location Recording
7
el cochino / Live Sound
0
chandlersonic / So much gear, so little time!
3

Forum Jump

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.