Login / Register
 
X-48 Tascam Host not responding
New Reply
Subscribe
airms
Thread Starter
#1
1st November 2012
Old 1st November 2012
  #1
Gear interested
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 7

Thread Starter
airms is offline
X-48 Tascam Host not responding

Hi,

I have a X-48 Tascam
There was an electricity problem this week and I get this error:
Host not responding

I've searched on the web and in the manual and I can't find anything.

Anybody got an idea?

Thanks!
#2
11th November 2012
Old 11th November 2012
  #2
Gear interested
 
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 2

Megaeffect is offline
I have 11 X-48s & 4 of them have done this. I've sent 2 back to Tascam for repairs & I'm waiting for an RMA for the others.It's a real problem
#3
11th November 2012
Old 11th November 2012
  #3
Gear interested
 
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 2

Megaeffect is offline
If I find out what's happening, I'll post the cure
#4
29th December 2012
Old 29th December 2012
  #4
Gear interested
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 2

GranataGuitars is offline
Thought I'd bring this up again as I seem to be having the same problem. 1 out of 40 or 50 times it will boot up. otherwise, even the DVD drive is locked out.

Megaeffect- Did you get any idea what was happening with yours?

Pete

Quote:
Originally Posted by Megaeffect View Post
If I find out what's happening, I'll post the cure
#5
20th January 2013
Old 20th January 2013
  #5
Gear interested
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1

soundoc is offline
Fixed host not responding

Quote:
Originally Posted by GranataGuitars View Post
Thought I'd bring this up again as I seem to be having the same problem. 1 out of 40 or 50 times it will boot up. otherwise, even the DVD drive is locked out.

Megaeffect- Did you get any idea what was happening with yours?

Pete
I to had the same problem, fixed it by replacing the battery on the motherboard.
Tom
#6
15th February 2013
Old 15th February 2013
  #6
Gear interested
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 2

GranataGuitars is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by soundoc View Post
I to had the same problem, fixed it by replacing the battery on the motherboard.
Tom
I tried changing the battery with no luck. Sent the unit into Tascam. They re-capped the motherboard for $280 and it works great. I was surprised at the 2-1/2 week turnaround.

pete
#7
22nd March 2013
Old 22nd March 2013
  #7
Gear interested
 
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 1

keyboards is offline
Yup, ditto here....

Quote:
Originally Posted by soundoc View Post
I to had the same problem, fixed it by replacing the battery on the motherboard.
Tom
Yup, replaced the battery and the "startup" voltage for the front panel trigger was high enough to trigger the M/B to fire up.

Strange little bit of circuitry going on there.....

keyboards
#8
29th April 2013
Old 29th April 2013
  #8
Gear interested
 
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 1

rklister is offline
I had a unit with the same error. Upon inspecting the unit it appeared that the motherboard would not boot. I checked the capacitors and found two to be bad. This unit had barely any use so I suspect this is a weakness with the motherboard. I am sending the unit in to be repaired.

-Rob
#9
19th October 2013
Old 19th October 2013
  #9
Gear interested
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 11

MGriffin is offline
What kind of battery and where is a good resource. Are they fairly generic motherboard batteries?
New Reply Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook  Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter  Submit Thread to LinkedIn LinkedIn  Submit Thread to Google+ Google+ 
 
Topic:
Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Similar Threads
Thread
Thread Starter / Forum
Replies
pianodano / So much gear, so little time!
0
sideshowluke / So much gear, so little time!
0
charlienyc / Geekslutz forum
0
beechstudio / So much gear, so little time!
0

Forum Jump

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.