Login / Register
 
URGENT! Pro tools HD9.3 playback Probelm
New Reply
Subscribe
Nips
Thread Starter
#1
22nd April 2012
Old 22nd April 2012
  #1
Gear interested
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 28

Thread Starter
Nips is offline
URGENT! Pro tools HD9.3 playback Probelm

I need your help urgently.
I have a Pro tools HD3 setup on a dual core Mac Pro OS-X snow leopard, using pro tools version 9.3 in my studio, but I am having serious problems with the playback of audio files.

I can record and everything runs perfect, but when I try to replay the recorded audio all tracks just play out a REALLY loud "KRRRRRRRR" (distorted digital noise, all meters in red!) noise on all outputs.

I have tried to delete preferences, database and set-up files, restarted the computer and pro tools. This procedure helped once or twice, but the problem returned after just a few hours.

Now I have reinstalled the whole system on a clean new disc and it worked for 7 hours straight but just now the problem returned. I can't playback any audio files from pro tools, but I can record as much as I like. If I burn the audio files on a cd, they play as they should, but as soon at I press play on pro tools all meters just hits the top with unpleasant noise!

Can anyone help locate the problem?
I am desperate!
#2
22nd April 2012
Old 22nd April 2012
  #2
Lives for gear
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,140

work2do is offline
sounds like a clock issue.
#3
22nd April 2012
Old 22nd April 2012
  #3
Lives for gear
 
ritelec's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,609

ritelec is offline
#4
22nd April 2012
Old 22nd April 2012
  #4
Lives for gear
 
ritelec's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,609

ritelec is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by work2do View Post
sounds like a clock issue.

ha ha ha or that............check and reset in set up????


???? isn't clock usually like ticks......???
Nips
Thread Starter
#5
22nd April 2012
Old 22nd April 2012
  #5
Gear interested
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 28

Thread Starter
Nips is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by work2do View Post
sounds like a clock issue.
In what way?
I have not connected new items to the system that use word-clock for more than a year and it has been running.
Could it be a clock issue anyway?

I have actually had a clock issue before, but that was exactly ticks and this is constant noise until I stop replay
Nips
Thread Starter
#6
22nd April 2012
Old 22nd April 2012
  #6
Gear interested
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 28

Thread Starter
Nips is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by ritelec View Post
Try here too

Avid Audio Forums - Powered by vBulletin



maybe electronic????? after time......heat.......capacitors.....resistors.....?????
I am starting to fear that...
Any suggestions to ways of locating the problem?
I only have 1 computer, so I can't install it on another and test it there...
#7
22nd April 2012
Old 22nd April 2012
  #7
www.devinkerr.com
 
devinkerr's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 63

devinkerr is offline
Did you run digitest?
Nips
Thread Starter
#8
22nd April 2012
Old 22nd April 2012
  #8
Gear interested
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 28

Thread Starter
Nips is offline
Digitest.
No, I didn't
Is it a program I can download and run?
#9
22nd April 2012
Old 22nd April 2012
  #9
Gear maniac
 
jkchuma's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Chattanooga

jkchuma is offline
It is installed with PT. Check the Applications folder. Likely the folder with Pro Tools. Used to be a Digidesign folder in older versions, probably Avid now.

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Gearslutz App
__________________
Josh Chuma
Chief Engineer at
Breaker 17 Studio
Nips
Thread Starter
#10
22nd April 2012
Old 22nd April 2012
  #10
Gear interested
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 28

Thread Starter
Nips is offline
Thanks:-)
Nips
Thread Starter
#11
22nd April 2012
Old 22nd April 2012
  #11
Gear interested
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 28

Thread Starter
Nips is offline
I think I might have located the problem.

After having cooled off, the system worked okay again, playing back files it wouldn't play before, without any thing having been done except 1 hour rest.
When the problem reaccurred after 1 hour playback, I checked my converters, clockcables and digilinks thru 1 at a time.

The problem came back but suddenly some files in a session would play and others would distort. Then I checked the files thru one at a time and the problem became even more strange. Some files played, some distorted, some didn't play at all and one last one played another artist tune in halfspeed...

That made me realize that all the problems came on sessions all located on the same disc. When the session was moved to another disc all files played fine.

I have off course still to see if this periodic problem reaccurres on a new drive as well, but so far the most likely cause it the drive that is sick.

Sounds plausible to you, guys?
I'll let you know if the problem returns:-)
Thanks for your advice.
New Reply Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook  Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter  Submit Thread to LinkedIn LinkedIn  Submit Thread to Google+ Google+ 
 
Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Similar Threads
Thread
Thread Starter / Forum
Replies
kieran kelly / Music Computers
4
Damian Taylor / Music Computers
4
bcgood / Music Computers
15

Forum Jump

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.