reduce gain of discrete pre w. schematic
Old 4th April 2012
Lives for gear

reduce gain of discrete pre w. schematic

Hello,
I have attached the schematic from the Tascam M600 Service Manual.
Gain of the amp can be varied with R120 from about 28 to 72. When recording drums i have to enable the 30db pad on almost every channel. In my understanding that is a waste of s/n ratio.
I have no real knowledge about discrete circuit design. What i would like to know:
Can i adjust the circuit to have lower gain? 0 to say 50 would be nice. I don´t think i need more than that, especially not from this pre as it gets noisy when cranked up high.
What should be changed, and are there any drawbacks?
Transistors are 2SC-1844F
Datasheet: 2SC1844 datasheet(1/3 Pages) NEC | NPN SILICON TRANSISTOR

Oh, and one more thing, not the intention of this thread but just a side question:
if i replace the caps, i always read about the low ESR electrolyts. Panasonic FC and others. But what about the Bipolar Caps C111 C112 in this schematic? If someone has a suggestion how to deal with those i would be thankful.
Attached Thumbnails
reduce gain of discrete pre w. schematic-m600-micpre.jpg  
Old 4th April 2012
Lives for gear

From the section of schematic showing, the minimum gain looks a lot lower than 28, unless there's another gain stage not shown.

The circuit topology doesn't let you remove a lot more gain from that stage, since the input devices have to be limited to only a few volts of signal swing around 0V.

using a pad is not really a huge problem. If you want, you could make the pad a little less severe.

c111/c112 are electrolytic too and would benefit from replacing if old and tired.

JR
Old 4th April 2012
Lives for gear

Thanks!
There is a diagram in the manual showing the gains/levels through the console.
MIC In is supposed to be within -68 and -26 without pad - to be brought to -8 when it enters the eq.