Quality of transformers in mic splitters
RobAnderson
Thread Starter
#1
31st March 2012
Old 31st March 2012
  #1
Lives for gear
 
RobAnderson's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: NY New York a wonderful town
Posts: 1,007

Thread Starter
Quality of transformers in mic splitters

Howdy esteemed Geekslutz.

I have been meaning to ask this question for a long time:

Can the quality of a transformer used in a passive mic splitter affect the signal quality on the direct, hard-wired side?

Thanks!
#2
31st March 2012
Old 31st March 2012
  #2
Lives for gear
 
Radardoug's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Northland New Zealand
Posts: 555

Yes. The network consisting of the microphone, the transformer, and the desk inputs is quite complex. The inputs of the consoles will reflect back through the transformer. With good equipment its not a problem, but if you used cheap transformers it could be quite bad. And mixers with low impedance inputs will load the microphone excessively.
#3
31st March 2012
Old 31st March 2012
  #3
Lives for gear
 
JohnRoberts's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Hickory, MS
Posts: 3,036

Sure, everything affects everything but in the grand scheme of things the impact will be very modest.

JR
Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Similar Threads
Thread
Thread Starter / Forum
Replies
deve / Remote Possibilities in Acoustic Music & Location Recording
1
bit mangler / Remote Possibilities in Acoustic Music & Location Recording
6
edwinhurwitz / Remote Possibilities in Acoustic Music & Location Recording
4
Rick Sutton / Remote Possibilities in Acoustic Music & Location Recording
6
fross / Remote Possibilities in Acoustic Music & Location Recording
10

Forum Jump
 
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.