Login / Register
 
+4dBu to 600 ohm load
New Reply
Subscribe
bajde
Thread Starter
#1
1st March 2012
Old 1st March 2012
  #1
Gear Head
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Lj-Si
Posts: 55

Thread Starter
bajde is offline
+4dBu to 600 ohm load

Hi, 600 ohm headphones dont get much power from h.out, so I wonder how can I connect them to XLR line output, how to bridge (-) and zero, and, since output impendance is 50 ohm, is there a way to make a better imp. match with a resistor.. I really dont want another box thanx
#2
1st March 2012
Old 1st March 2012
  #2
Lives for gear
 
The Real MC's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: secluded tranquil country
Posts: 2,969

The Real MC is online now
Quote:
Originally Posted by bajde View Post
Hi, 600 ohm headphones dont get much power from h.out, so I wonder how can I connect them to XLR line output, how to bridge (-) and zero, and, since output impendance is 50 ohm, is there a way to make a better imp. match with a resistor.. I really dont want another box thanx
Most headphone outputs are not beefy enough to drive 600ohm headphones. The XLR line output will not drive the headphones without an amplifier. Sorry but yer either gonna need another box or a set of 8 ohm headphones.
__________________
You can lead a horse to water but you can't make him drink it. But lead a horse to liquor...
bajde
Thread Starter
#3
2nd March 2012
Old 2nd March 2012
  #3
Gear Head
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Lj-Si
Posts: 55

Thread Starter
bajde is offline
Heh, You can drive speakers from line out? Must try! To be more specific, it`s hhb cd-burner WITA. It can squeze ten more dB on an.out.0,5W power needed.
#4
2nd March 2012
Old 2nd March 2012
  #4
Gear addict
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Posts: 444

Speedskater is offline
A pair of 600 Ohm headphones is an easier load than a pair of 8 Ohm headphones. All adding a resistor can do is waste power. Impedance matched circuits are only found in legacy type vacuum tube equipment.
#5
2nd March 2012
Old 2nd March 2012
  #5
Lives for gear
 
nosebleedaudio's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Location: Birmingham, AL USA
Posts: 4,376

Send a message via AIM to nosebleedaudio
nosebleedaudio is offline
The 990 Opamp will drive a 150 ohm load with NO problem..
One of the Best Audiophile type of headphone amps I have used..it also has a +24dBm output, FAR higher than Most headphone amps..
__________________
Michael Keith
www.jmkaudio.com
#6
2nd March 2012
Old 2nd March 2012
  #6
Lives for gear
 
nosebleedaudio's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Location: Birmingham, AL USA
Posts: 4,376

Send a message via AIM to nosebleedaudio
nosebleedaudio is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by bajde View Post
Hi, 600 ohm headphones dont get much power from h.out, so I wonder how can I connect them to XLR line output, how to bridge (-) and zero, and, since output impendance is 50 ohm, is there a way to make a better imp. match with a resistor.. I really dont want another box thanx
You want More voltage and current for 600 ohm phones...
Forget matching impedance..You want Bridging..Low output imp. into a far higher Input imp.
#7
2nd March 2012
Old 2nd March 2012
  #7
Lives for gear
 
Rick Sutton's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 5,269

Rick Sutton is offline
In my experience there seems to be a wide range of sensitivity in headphones that is not wholly dependent on impedance.

I have many pairs of 600 ohm AKG K240 that while they do work on line level outs are far surpassed in volume on the same line outputs by 55 ohm AKG K141's.
#8
2nd March 2012
Old 2nd March 2012
  #8
Lives for gear
 
nosebleedaudio's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Location: Birmingham, AL USA
Posts: 4,376

Send a message via AIM to nosebleedaudio
nosebleedaudio is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick Sutton View Post
In my experience there seems to be a wide range of sensitivity in headphones that is not wholly dependent on impedance.

I have many pairs of 600 ohm AKG K240 that while they do work on line level outs are far surpassed in volume on the same line outputs by 55 ohm AKG K141's.
Several things a work here, sensitivity of the phones for one thing, Loading of the amp is another..Both or either can effect the SPL of the phones..
#9
2nd March 2012
Old 2nd March 2012
  #9
Gear maniac
 
ruffrecords's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: North Norfolk, UK

ruffrecords is offline
0dBu into 600 ohms is one milliwatt. For a really good loud sound in the average headphone you need to be able to put in about 100mW which means to do this into 600 ohm headphones required an output level of +20dBu. If you can crank the output up to this level than it will work.

Cheers

Ian
#10
2nd March 2012
Old 2nd March 2012
  #10
Lives for gear
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 6,409

Matt Syson is offline
Hi
Anything with pretentions of being 'professional' should be able to 'drive' a 600 Ohm load, be it headphones or various bits of impedance matched gear. (Pultec EQ for example).
They should also manage +21 dBu for an unbalanced (necessary for headphones) signal.
Do not attempt to drive headphones of less than 600 Ohms unless the output is rated suitably.
Matt S
__________________
Matt S
www.mseaudio.co.uk
bajde
Thread Starter
#11
2nd March 2012
Old 2nd March 2012
  #11
Gear Head
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Lj-Si
Posts: 55

Thread Starter
bajde is offline
Thanks guys!, so, is a transformer in q? Yeahm, theory...
#12
2nd March 2012
Old 2nd March 2012
  #12
Lives for gear
 
RogerFoote's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 610

RogerFoote is offline
bajde
Thread Starter
#13
3rd March 2012
Old 3rd March 2012
  #13
Gear Head
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Lj-Si
Posts: 55

Thread Starter
bajde is offline
New Reply Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook  Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter  Submit Thread to LinkedIn LinkedIn  Submit Thread to Google+ Google+ 
 
Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Similar Threads
Thread
Thread Starter / Forum
Replies
NickH / Geekslutz forum
6
kellyr52 / High end
8

Forum Jump

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.