Roland SRV-2000 Blew?
logicll
Thread Starter
#1
5th August 2011
Old 5th August 2011
  #1
Lives for gear
 
logicll's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: California....??
Posts: 845

Thread Starter
Roland SRV-2000 Blew?

Hello, Today while hooking up my SRV-2000 the input meter was slammed, I turned off the unit and turned down the input. When I turned the unit back on the display wouldn't work and the unit no longer passes signal. I could smell something burnt (maybe a cap blew ?)

I didn't realize a unit could blow up from a +4 input (Perhaps distort if the input gain was set to high but blow up the unit?) Any input would be appreciated.
#2
5th August 2011
Old 5th August 2011
  #2
Lives for gear
 
Ike Zimbel's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,039

You didn't blow it up. Something failed inside, probably in the power supply. Happens with older units...
best,
Ike
logicll
Thread Starter
#3
5th August 2011
Old 5th August 2011
  #3
Lives for gear
 
logicll's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: California....??
Posts: 845

Thread Starter
Thanks for the reply. I am thinking something in the power supply blew, but the bypass function (and the bypass led) still work. I looked at the schematic to see what would have to blow to allow this... Guess I will just have to open the SRV up and see...

#4
6th August 2011
Old 6th August 2011
  #4
Lives for gear
 
Ike Zimbel's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,039

Most power supplies have multiple voltages, so one may still work when others have failed. This is common with devices that have, say, a separate voltage for LEDs and relays etc. So you can get that "lights are on but no- ones home" sort of thing.
Best
Ike
#5
6th August 2011
Old 6th August 2011
  #5
Lives for gear
 
acreil's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 1,360

Notice that the bypass switch just connects the inputs to the outputs. That tells you nothing.

The power supply is the first place to look.
logicll
Thread Starter
#6
8th August 2011
Old 8th August 2011
  #6
Lives for gear
 
logicll's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: California....??
Posts: 845

Thread Starter
yes, I noticed the bypass switch, but I thought it strange that the led for the bypass switch still worked. What I can't fully understand is how an input (+4dBu) could cause a failure? The input meeter on the SRV was in the red for a brief time but I have never seen a piece of gear fail from this..
#7
8th August 2011
Old 8th August 2011
  #7
Lives for gear
 
acreil's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 1,360

Quote:
Originally Posted by logicll View Post
What I can't fully understand is how an input (+4dBu) could cause a failure? The input meeter on the SRV was in the red for a brief time but I have never seen a piece of gear fail from this..
That was very likely just a coincidence. The meter showing red might have been due to something else failing, maybe a part in the power supply going bad.
#8
8th August 2011
Old 8th August 2011
  #8
Lives for gear
 
Radardoug's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Northland New Zealand
Posts: 555

I had an SRV2000 which had a fault in the power supply where it put +15 onto the +5 rail and wrecked the eproms. The fault was in the pcb in the middle of the power supply, a cap failed. Check that you have all power supply rails at the right voltage.
#9
9th October 2011
Old 9th October 2011
  #9
Lives for gear
 
acreil's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 1,360

I just bought a broken SRV-2000. It had a bad tantalum capacitor on the analog board that shorted the -15 rail to ground and blew a fuse. Losing the +15 or -15 supply (for whatever reason) can cause the input meter to light up.

I haven't replaced it yet, I just found the problem a few minutes ago, but I'm hoping that will do the trick.

Edit: yes, that was the problem, it works great now.
logicll
Thread Starter
#10
9th October 2011
Old 9th October 2011
  #10
Lives for gear
 
logicll's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: California....??
Posts: 845

Thread Starter
Well I blew a fuse and the real problem is this small circular transformer part# 12449251 Impossible to find... I need one.
logicll
Thread Starter
#11
10th October 2011
Old 10th October 2011
  #11
Lives for gear
 
logicll's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: California....??
Posts: 845

Thread Starter
dose any body know the voltages for the led display? It has several leads coming off the round transformer, I just need the 9 voltage levels..
#12
11th October 2011
Old 11th October 2011
  #12
Lives for gear
 
Radardoug's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Northland New Zealand
Posts: 555

If this is the small inverter transformer used to power the display, I had one fail, went around in circles for a while, and found I could do without the centre tap I think it was. The display was showing up very strange.
logicll
Thread Starter
#13
12th October 2011
Old 12th October 2011
  #13
Lives for gear
 
logicll's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: California....??
Posts: 845

Thread Starter
Yes!! Tell me more good sir..
#14
29th May 2012
Old 29th May 2012
  #14
Lives for gear
 
Joe Haze's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: Utah
Posts: 597

I have an SRV with a crazy display and the unit makes an intermittent buzz sound. Anybody know of a repair place in the U.S?
Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Forum Jump
 
Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.