Login / Register
 
AES/EBU vs Co-Axial?
New Reply
Subscribe
rlnyc
Thread Starter
#1
8th December 2005
Old 8th December 2005
  #1
Gear addict
 
rlnyc's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2002
Location: NY
Posts: 346

Thread Starter
rlnyc is offline
AES/EBU vs Co-Axial?

for distances of 6 - 10 feet, does it make a difference between using AES/EBU or Co-Axial cables for transfering digital information?

thanks,
rlnyc.
#2
8th December 2005
Old 8th December 2005
  #2
Gear maniac
 
StefanM's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 272

StefanM is offline
just to be clear:
s/p-dif uses 75 Ohm coaxial cable (and is good for up to about 30feet)
aes/ebu uses 110 Ohm stp cable and (being differential & higher level) is good for much longer distances.
If your questions was about for example connecting an s/p-dif out to an aes in: yes it is possible in most cases if cable length is in the range of s/p-dif connections.
And no: there is no difference in audio signal quality...

Stefan
rlnyc
Thread Starter
#3
8th December 2005
Old 8th December 2005
  #3
Gear addict
 
rlnyc's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2002
Location: NY
Posts: 346

Thread Starter
rlnyc is offline
thanks for the info. it's basically to transfer digital info from a dat machine into a masterlink. they are right next to each other and the co-axial cable i have is a 6 foot cable. at that small distance i thought it would be ok, but wanted to get opinions from those who might know better or different.

regards,
rlnyc.
#4
8th December 2005
Old 8th December 2005
  #4
Lives for gear
 
orange's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: London
Posts: 1,689

orange is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by StefanM
just to be clear:
s/p-dif uses 75 Ohm coaxial cable (and is good for up to about 30feet)
aes/ebu uses 110 Ohm stp cable and (being differential & higher level) is good for much longer distances.
If your questions was about for example connecting an s/p-dif out to an aes in: yes it is possible in most cases if cable length is in the range of s/p-dif connections.
And no: there is no difference in audio signal quality...

Stefan
not strictly true..and the real situation is more complex.


spdif can be (and is) run over optical connections (toslink)
aes3 can be (and is) run over 75 coax with bnc connectors.

Protocol is more or less the same (BUT NOT IDENTICAL) and output levels vary between different flavours as you stated.

you should ideally use a matching transformer to convert one to the other (v.cheap- neutrick do one) . In practice it will 'probably' work if you just make a 'wired' adapter - but you might get glitches and dropouts. Try it and see.

don't mean to be a smart-arse but just thought it was worth painting in a bit more of the picture. thumbsup

si
#5
8th December 2005
Old 8th December 2005
  #5
Gear maniac
 
StefanM's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 272

StefanM is offline
thumbsup
rlnyc
Thread Starter
#6
8th December 2005
Old 8th December 2005
  #6
Gear addict
 
rlnyc's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2002
Location: NY
Posts: 346

Thread Starter
rlnyc is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by StefanM
just to be clear:

If your question was about for example connecting an s/p-dif out to an aes in: yes it is possible in most cases if cable length is in the range of s/p-dif connections.

Stefan

that wasn't my question. it was only that i have two machines with both aes/ebu AND co-axial ins and outs. currently i own a co-axial cable. i wanted to find out is the aes/ebu would give a different result at short distance, or if it is acceptable to run the signal through the co-axial without having to go buy another cable.

thank you both for your input.

regards,
rlnyc
#7
8th December 2005
Old 8th December 2005
  #7
Lives for gear
 
orange's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: London
Posts: 1,689

orange is offline
I think that Stefan answered your question in the bit you forgot to quote/read...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stefan
And no: there is no difference in audio signal quality...
rlnyc
Thread Starter
#8
9th December 2005
Old 9th December 2005
  #8
Gear addict
 
rlnyc's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2002
Location: NY
Posts: 346

Thread Starter
rlnyc is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by orange
I think that Stefan answered your question in the bit you forgot to quote/read...
no, i was responding to your correction of the section of his reply to my question that speculated that my question was other than it was.

follow?

i understood the section of his reply that answered my question just fine. and even if your response threw me a little by it's technical elements and by it's refering to a reply to a question i didn't pose or need answered, i managed to understand it too.

thanks for your help.

best,
rlnyc
#9
9th December 2005
Old 9th December 2005
  #9
Gear Guru
 
tINY's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: Orygun
Posts: 12,097

tINY is offline


London v New York.... yikes!



-tINY

New Reply Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook  Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter  Submit Thread to LinkedIn LinkedIn  Submit Thread to Google+ Google+ 
 
Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Similar Threads
Thread
Thread Starter / Forum
Replies
Jens / Music Computers
6
pingu / So much gear, so little time!
3
Stargazer / So much gear, so little time!
11
Tubelover / Music Computers
3
faeflora / So much gear, so little time!
9

Forum Jump

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.