Learning to solder...slowly
Old 16th April 2010
Gear addict

Learning to solder...slowly

Hey guys,

Basically i baught a 30w soldering iron with some led free solder and a few accessories like a stand and the magnifying glass etc.

Now i have collected every lead that has broke for years now so eventually im going to try and repair some of them, i also have a planet waves tuner which isnt working at the moment, and a trace elliot combo in which ive been told all that needs doing is to solder the wires to the speaker frame.(dont worry im not going at them yet haha)

Now i'd love to be able to confidently fix my own equipment so im going to start somwhere, at the verrry bottom.

Anyone got any absolute beginner advice? maybe a good way to practice? or an excellent source of knowledge on it?

Thanks
Craig
Old 16th April 2010
Lives for gear

Old 16th April 2010
Old 16th April 2010
Gear addict

When soldering wires and connectors (I would start with Connectors - TS, TRS, XLR (easiest IMO), 1/8" TRS) - get good at those.

XLR is the easiest. Start with that. Get your Iron hot. Put a little solder on the tip of your iron. Now "tin" the bare wire (which honestly shouldnt be a whole lot of bare wire - small, simple, quick is the name of the game. You dont need and dont want a whole lot of exposed and you dont need a whole lot of solder). Once you get a little solder on the wire, put a little solder on the connector "cups". Then QUICKLY just solder the wire to the connector's cup. It should take about 1 second. Hold it for a few seconds to let it cool in place.

XLRs, then TS, then TRS, then Mini, then RCA - I would practice in that order. It takes a minute to get good, but it's invaluable so kudos for jumping into it!

I would suggest also getting a Vise Grip tool. I use that to hold the connector in place. Well worth the money IMO. I used to do a lot of soldering for work, now it's just for maintenance purposes. Or fun.