Login / Register
 
'Y' cable construction-dual phono->xlr male?
New Reply
Subscribe
Kno1
Thread Starter
#1
16th December 2009
Old 16th December 2009
  #1
Gear nut
 
Kno1's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Posts: 100

Thread Starter
Kno1 is offline
'Y' cable construction-dual phono->xlr male?

I'm just starting to make my own cables, so pls bear with me.

I'm trying to make a dual rca -> male xlr 'Y' cable to run my Turntable outs(dual rca's)->GTQ2 pre(single xlr male)->MPC 60 record in(single trs input).

I'm using mogami 2 conductor cable, but wanted to know if this is even possible with the cable I own, then I was going to buy the connectors.

Would I connect one wire and half the shield to one rca and the other to the other rca? Where would the corresponding connections be made on the xlr connector?

Thanks in advance.
#2
17th December 2009
Old 17th December 2009
  #2
Lives for gear
 
mfischman3's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 1,082

mfischman3 is offline
If you're splitting the shield, it sounds like you're working with standard balanced/single-channel cable. In which case, you're definitely going to need some heat-shrink.

Otherwise, a stereo style cable: Mogami 2930, 2528, 3106 should all work well for you
#3
17th December 2009
Old 17th December 2009
  #3
Gear addict
 
Mulmany's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Delaware
Posts: 322

Mulmany is offline
Sum to mono

You need to sum to mono before feeding to the pre. On the XLR the Shield would go to 1 and 3, and hot to 2. You are also going to be feeding the pre the wrong voltage from the turntable and most likely cause it to distort.

I would buy a direct box that takes -10(RCA) to mic level. Radial makes a stereo unit. Its the Radial JPC Radial Engineering - JPC Computer / A/V Direct Box
__________________
Make it safe to do something unusual cause it might sound amazing.

Insanity Music Technology - Facebook Profile - Mobile Recording, Mixing, Voice Overs, and Audio Post Production.

HTAV PROS - Entertainment Simplified - Custom Home Theater, Audio, Video, and Networking. http://www.htavpros.com
Kno1
Thread Starter
#4
17th December 2009
Old 17th December 2009
  #4
Gear nut
 
Kno1's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Posts: 100

Thread Starter
Kno1 is offline
Thanks guys.
#5
17th December 2009
Old 17th December 2009
  #5
Lives for gear
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 1,242

jetam is offline
You need RIAA preamp!
Kno1
Thread Starter
#6
17th December 2009
Old 17th December 2009
  #6
Gear nut
 
Kno1's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Posts: 100

Thread Starter
Kno1 is offline
I'm running my TT thru a Stanton mixer, but wanted to try using my GTQ2 as preamp w/ the TT grounded to the old mixer.


This is all experimental, so I'm just trying to get some general ideas on cabling and such.
Kno1
Thread Starter
#7
17th December 2009
Old 17th December 2009
  #7
Gear nut
 
Kno1's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Posts: 100

Thread Starter
Kno1 is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by jetam View Post
You need RIAA preamp!
Just read up on the riaa eq curve, thanks for bringing it up. Scratch the whole thing!!!!
New Reply Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook  Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter  Submit Thread to LinkedIn LinkedIn  Submit Thread to Google+ Google+ 
 
Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Similar Threads
Thread
Thread Starter / Forum
Replies
MrVelvet / So much gear, so little time!
8
yipshee / Gearslutz Secondhand Gear Classifieds
3
sage691 / Gearslutz Secondhand Gear Classifieds
0

Forum Jump

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.