Login / Register
 
Akai s1100
New Reply
Subscribe
golden beers
Thread Starter
#1
5th June 2009
Old 5th June 2009
  #1
Lives for gear
 
golden beers's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,151

Thread Starter
golden beers is offline
Akai s1100

anyone have a service manual for this sampler?

I'm using it as a stand-alone FX box and would love to get better noise to signal % anyone tried this themselves?
__________________
_____________________________________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by djugel View Post
The knob on the Source is perhaps the ballsiest knob ever made.
Quote:
Originally Posted by LimpyLoo View Post
My gearection has gone from 'Fairchild' to 'Behringer'...
Quote:
Originally Posted by apprenticemart2 View Post
I like the sample packs with booby girls on the front cover or sound engineers lookin' 'ard as fur.
#2
5th June 2009
Old 5th June 2009
  #2
Gear Guru
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 10,252
My Recordings/Credits

Jim Williams is offline
I used to do a bit of those back in the 90's. Better converter chips, opamps, caps etc.

Jim Williams
Audio Upgrades
golden beers
Thread Starter
#3
5th June 2009
Old 5th June 2009
  #3
Lives for gear
 
golden beers's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,151

Thread Starter
golden beers is offline
thumbsupthanks for the post!

what's the one component/type of component to change to give the biggest difference to overall noise levels do you think?

ie: would changing the ICs make a bigger difference to changing the caps?
or would changing the converter give the biggest gain in signal to noise%?
#4
6th June 2009
Old 6th June 2009
  #4
Gear Guru
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 10,252
My Recordings/Credits

Jim Williams is offline
Well, these were 20 bit devices so they are obsolete compared to modern converters and such. Better is a good way to describe the changes. They are easily bested by modern converter chipsets.

Jim Williams
Audio Upgrades
#5
15th February 2011
Old 15th February 2011
  #5
Gear nut
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Location: Kiev
Posts: 137

top dog is offline
Golden beers, did you find that manual? would love to get it too - just won S1100 for so nice price 81$ !!!
#6
15th February 2011
Old 15th February 2011
  #6
Lives for gear
 
roginator's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,336

roginator is offline
me wanna service manual too!!!

also guys i have ex1100 fo sell or trade!

D
__________________
www.syntheticarts.com

Brain is CV controlled device!!!!!! so we all are analog sequenced machines!!!! " ROBOTS "
golden beers
Thread Starter
#7
16th February 2011
Old 16th February 2011
  #7
Lives for gear
 
golden beers's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,151

Thread Starter
golden beers is offline
no i never got.
there is an AKAI S1000/S1100 yahoo group, which has some AKAI gurus there.. after some research i came to the conclusion that i'm stuck with the noise, which isnt that bad.
#8
29th March 2011
Old 29th March 2011
  #8
Gear nut
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Location: Kiev
Posts: 137

top dog is offline
Yes, its really downloadable from S1000/S1100 group in yahoo!
golden beers
Thread Starter
#9
2nd April 2011
Old 2nd April 2011
  #9
Lives for gear
 
golden beers's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,151

Thread Starter
golden beers is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by top dog View Post
Yes, its really downloadable from S1000/S1100 group in yahoo!
please upload it and share the link here?
#10
6th April 2011
Old 6th April 2011
  #10
Gear nut
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Location: Kiev
Posts: 137

top dog is offline
golden beers
Thread Starter
#11
20th April 2011
Old 20th April 2011
  #11
Lives for gear
 
golden beers's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,151

Thread Starter
golden beers is offline
just noticed this.
thanks,
but it's not the service manual
#12
20th April 2011
Old 20th April 2011
  #12
Lives for gear
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,017

oxide54 is offline
#13
10th May 2011
Old 10th May 2011
  #13
Gear interested
 
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 3

Slash_Katana is offline
AKAI S1100 Service Manual

#14
10th May 2011
Old 10th May 2011
  #14
Lives for gear
 
roginator's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,336

roginator is offline
#15
10th May 2011
Old 10th May 2011
  #15
Gear interested
 
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 3

Slash_Katana is offline
with pleasure, you're welcome

I also got the schematics, but it will take some time to scan them, since they are A2/A1 in size.
When finished, I will post it here.

best regards,
Slash
#17
2nd October 2011
Old 2nd October 2011
  #17
Gear interested
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 8

satsu is offline
Does anyone know if there's a way to check what operating system the S1100 is curenntly running? I just bought one and would like to know if it's running 4.30 or not...
#18
2nd October 2011
Old 2nd October 2011
  #18
Lives for gear
 
rokuez's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: West Los Angeles
Posts: 787

rokuez is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by satsu View Post
Does anyone know if there's a way to check what operating system the S1100 is curenntly running? I just bought one and would like to know if it's running 4.30 or not...
i believe it says the os version right when it starts up

it will display it very quickly.
__________________
E-mu Emulator Forum www.eiiiforum.com
#19
2nd October 2011
Old 2nd October 2011
  #19
Gear interested
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 8

satsu is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by rokuez View Post
i believe it says the os version right when it starts up
Thanks! Should've noticed that myself... Seems to be 4.30 which is nice.
#20
3rd October 2011
Old 3rd October 2011
  #20
Gear maniac
 
ResonantMind's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 243

ResonantMind is offline
Akai s1000hd

Looking for an S1000HD service manual, you wouldn't by any chance have one of those would you?

Res
#21
3rd October 2011
Old 3rd October 2011
  #21
Lives for gear
 
audiokid's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: British Columbia Canada
Posts: 779

audiokid is offline
wow , $81 for an S1100. I paid $8,000 for mine loaded. The software version is there when you boot it.

My screen is dull, and I hardly used it. Wonderful sampler though. Wish I could get it to view on my HD monitor.

Thanks for the links and yahoo group.

cheers!
__________________
RECORDING ORG keeping pro audio real
#22
29th November 2011
Old 29th November 2011
  #22
Gear nut
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Location: Kiev
Posts: 137

top dog is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiokid View Post
wow , $81 for an S1100. I paid $8,000 for mine loaded. The software version is there when you boot it.

My screen is dull, and I hardly used it. Wonderful sampler though. Wish I could get it to view on my HD monitor.

Thanks for the links and yahoo group.

cheers!

Hi, Audiokid. I have some questions about loading libraries in S1100 via SCSI, I'm sure you work in that way. Which way is best to load samples - with old SCSI hard drive, proper SCSI controller and cable (I have it already) or compatible CD-drive? I work on PC under Windows XP. Does both ways will work, and which is better for you?
Many thanks!
#23
1st December 2011
Old 1st December 2011
  #23
Lives for gear
 
logicll's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: California....??
Posts: 845

logicll is offline
I developed a process for loading in samples to my S1100.

I installed OS9 on a MDD mac, used Recycle (with SCSI support) hooked the S1100 to the computer (needed a 68pin to 50 pin converter).

I made a aiff file with all of my drum samples, used Recycle to add markers at the beginning of each hit. Exported all samples to S1100 (let it key map for me) quick and dirty!!
__________________
WHY...!
#24
12th November 2012
Old 12th November 2012
  #24
Gear addict
 
initself's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: Tustin, CA
Posts: 430

Send a message via AIM to initself Send a message via Yahoo to initself
initself is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by logicll View Post
I developed a process for loading in samples to my S1100.

I installed OS9 on a MDD mac, used Recycle (with SCSI support) hooked the S1100 to the computer (needed a 68pin to 50 pin converter).

I made a aiff file with all of my drum samples, used Recycle to add markers at the beginning of each hit. Exported all samples to S1100 (let it key map for me) quick and dirty!!
Dude, I am so excited to try the one wav to rule them all method, that's brilliant!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Varaldo View Post
<---- rare shot of the prototype Nord used by Dave Stewart
#25
28th December 2012
Old 28th December 2012
  #25
Gear interested
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Croydon, Surrey
Posts: 29

Send a message via MSN to BaltarRecords
BaltarRecords is offline
New Reply Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook  Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter  Submit Thread to LinkedIn LinkedIn  Submit Thread to Google+ Google+ 
 
Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Similar Threads
Thread
Thread Starter / Forum
Replies
Farshad / Product Alerts older than 2 months
5
marquis123 / Electronic Music Instruments & Electronic Music Production
0

Forum Jump

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.