Login / Register
 
The Seventy Nine Dollar DAC
New Reply
Subscribe
Jim Williams
Thread Starter
#1
17th September 2008
Old 17th September 2008
  #1
Gear Guru
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 10,252
My Recordings/Credits

Thread Starter
Jim Williams is offline

Last edited by Jim Williams; 18th September 2008 at 03:37 AM.. Reason: fixed part #
#2
17th September 2008
Old 17th September 2008
  #2
Lives for gear
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Nashville
Posts: 3,800
My Recordings/Credits

Sean Sullivan is offline
Hmm, tried the model number and nothing came up, and tried the source code and a $100 cable went into my cart.
#3
17th September 2008
Old 17th September 2008
  #3
Gear maniac
 
Chris Nighman's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Stow, Ohio
Posts: 207

Chris Nighman is offline
Try 50-7774 thumbsup
#4
1st October 2008
Old 1st October 2008
  #4
Lives for gear
 
Jimbo's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Pennsyltucky
Posts: 2,767

Jimbo is offline
Just got the box yesterday, and hooked it into the hifi. I'm using it for all my digital sources (CD, Satellite/XM, Airport).

Cool little unit, and sounds much nicer (stock) than the onboard conversion of the digital players/receivers.

I'm going to do the National opamp swap for kicks.

Jim, what audio market segment does the Burrbrown converter hit? All the proaudio stuff seems hooked on Cirrus and AKM.

Thanks for the headzup! thumbsup
#5
1st October 2008
Old 1st October 2008
  #5
Lives for gear
 
BOWIE's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Scottsdale, AZ.
Posts: 3,408

BOWIE is offline
How does the sound quality compare to typical pro-audio DAC's? Can you put it on the same level as as particular unit out there?
#6
1st October 2008
Old 1st October 2008
  #6
Lives for gear
 
Jimbo's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Pennsyltucky
Posts: 2,767

Jimbo is offline
I'll do an A/B against my Metric Halo converters and post what I find.
#7
1st October 2008
Old 1st October 2008
  #7
Lives for gear
 
Shane Michael Rose's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: NYC

Send a message via AIM to Shane Michael Rose
Shane Michael Rose is offline
i think i will buy this for my new ITB mix room.

there is no sync for my other converters, but if its just for monitoring, i can't imagine that would be a huge deal.... right?
#8
1st October 2008
Old 1st October 2008
  #8
Lives for gear
 
Jimbo's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Pennsyltucky
Posts: 2,767

Jimbo is offline
#9
1st October 2008
Old 1st October 2008
  #9
Lives for gear
 
Jimbo's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Pennsyltucky
Posts: 2,767

Jimbo is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaneoconnor View Post
i think i will buy this for my new ITB mix room.

there is no sync for my other converters, but if its just for monitoring, i can't imagine that would be a huge deal.... right?
You don't need to sync the DAC when monitoring.
#10
2nd October 2008
Old 2nd October 2008
  #10
Lives for gear
 
macc's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: buildy buildy
Posts: 2,379

Send a message via AIM to macc
macc is offline
This looks pretty good - does anyone know if it is available in the UK? I don't havea credit card and that company won't take paypal :(
__________________
Bob Macciochi

http://www.scmastering.com




#11
20th October 2008
Old 20th October 2008
  #11
Lives for gear
 
Jimbo's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Pennsyltucky
Posts: 2,767

Jimbo is offline
BTW, the discount code still applies -- I just checked the MCM website.
#12
22nd October 2008
Old 22nd October 2008
  #12
Lives for gear
 
iomegaman's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: 35° 8' N 111° 40' W
Posts: 854

iomegaman is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimbo View Post
BTW, the discount code still applies -- I just checked the MCM website.
Thanks Jimbo, did you ever compare it to the metric halo?

I ordered the National chips as well coming on a slow boat from China...

What other mods would improve this? Recommend a different headphone chip?

thanxz
__________________
Q:Why did the bass player break his window after he locked his keys in his car?

A:To get the drummer out.
#13
22nd October 2008
Old 22nd October 2008
  #13
Lives for gear
 
Jimbo's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Pennsyltucky
Posts: 2,767

Jimbo is offline
I still haven't compared it to the MH...sorry.

It's pretty far down on my list of things to do, especially since I'm not using it for recording work. For the Hi-Fi, though, it's been very, very good.

I don't believe there are any drop-in, replacement headphone amps available. I haven't, yet, performed the 4558 replacement, but I plan to soon.
#14
23rd October 2008
Old 23rd October 2008
  #14
Lives for gear
 
iomegaman's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: 35° 8' N 111° 40' W
Posts: 854

iomegaman is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimbo View Post
I still haven't compared it to the MH...sorry.

It's pretty far down on my list of things to do, especially since I'm not using it for recording work. For the Hi-Fi, though, it's been very, very good.

I don't believe there are any drop-in, replacement headphone amps available. I haven't, yet, performed the 4558 replacement, but I plan to soon.
Well if you need a chip let me know, National is sending me 2 and I'll be glad to snaill mail ya one...once it gets here that is...just pm if you need it.
#15
23rd October 2008
Old 23rd October 2008
  #15
Geariophile
 
Karloff70's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: london
Posts: 13,287

Karloff70 is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Williams View Post
I'm lifting up the National LME49722 and putting in a couple of new ADA4898-1's on a Brown Dog so-8 dual to so-8 single adaptor. These are very good sounding opamps, new and very good specs. Report coming...

I've not found a pin compatible replacement for the 386 heaphone amp chips.
I also replaced those LED's with some Kingbrite blue, blue/green, red and green high output LED's. It lights up a dark room in cool colors.

All caps were changed to large value Panasonic FM types.

Jim Williams
Audio Upgrades
Sounds interesting indeed....how would you rank this puppy next to a fireface AD? Meaning with Nationals or ADA chips......very curious if this might be a cheap as chips upgrade to my mix listening.....?
#16
23rd October 2008
Old 23rd October 2008
  #16
Lives for gear
 
Shane Michael Rose's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: NYC

Send a message via AIM to Shane Michael Rose
Shane Michael Rose is offline
ok so i am sold, i will be getting one of these.

i still needa monitor switch and a mono fold down. how hard would it be to build a passive box that does that?
#17
23rd October 2008
Old 23rd October 2008
  #17
Gear Guru
 
theblue1's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 20,276

theblue1 is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Williams View Post
I found a nice budget converter. It's the model 50-7774 from MCM electronics.

[...]
A bargain recommendation from Jim Williams! A nice surprise. I suspect a lot of us are looking to stretch our pennies, these days.

Thanks, Jim!



__________________
.
.

TK Major: social, biz, and music stuff | a crisp, flat design restyle for GS: Gray GS 2.2 for Chrome/Stylebot

People make oceans of music and only a tiny, tiny amount ever rises up for a few moments like a wave, visible from the shore. And then it's gone, too, back into the bottomless sea of forgotten music.
TK Major
. The Forgotify Files
#18
23rd October 2008
Old 23rd October 2008
  #18
Lives for gear
 
Joined: May 2004
Location: canada
Posts: 3,998

manning1 is offline
nice.
now if only one could get a nice A to D for recording to the daw,
at such a price..lol.
__________________
i'm just a dumb computer engr (ret'd)...."quantum computing is the future"
running a native software studio daw...Powertracks and Reaper on amd.
new cockney album released http://therockingbloodbrothers.blogspot.com/
my other little songs www.motagator.com/bmanning
#19
23rd October 2008
Old 23rd October 2008
  #19
Lives for gear
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 3,494

Snatchman is offline
Could I bother one of you knowledgeable techs to put one of these DAC together for me?... ( but with AES conectors..)....eh
__________________
Thanks for your time and ears!
#20
23rd October 2008
Old 23rd October 2008
  #20
Gear addict
 
Jaymz's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 355

Jaymz is offline
hmmmmmm.

I'm tempted to get one just to use in conjunction with my M-Audio Transit. It would mean I could go,

Laptop ---USB---> M-Audio Transit ---Optical---> 50-7774 ---1/8 Inch---> Littledot MKI headphone amp ---1/8 Inch---> DT880's

If anyone thinks that's a bad decision please say so. Would it be worth the improvement of D/A conversion from just using the Transit?
__________________

#21
23rd October 2008
Old 23rd October 2008
  #21
Lives for gear
 
Jimbo's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Pennsyltucky
Posts: 2,767

Jimbo is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaymz View Post
hmmmmmm.

I'm tempted to get one just to use in conjunction with my M-Audio Transit. It would mean I could go,

Laptop ---USB---> M-Audio Transit ---Optical---> 50-7774 ---1/4 Inch---> Littledot MKI headphone amp ---1/4 Inch---> DT880's

If anyone thinks that's a bad decision please say so. Would it be worth the improvement of D/A conversion from just using the Transit?
Depending on your laptop you might be able to skip the Transit. Macs have optical out on the 1/8" mini jack -- you need an adapter. I don't know about Dell and other makes.
#22
23rd October 2008
Old 23rd October 2008
  #22
Gear addict
 
Jaymz's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 355

Jaymz is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimbo View Post
Depending on your laptop you might be able to skip the Transit. Macs have optical out on the 1/8" mini jack -- you need an adapter. I don't know about Dell and other makes.
My current laptop has no optical out. I don't mind passing it through the Transit though, won't affect the sound quality I'd assume since it's all digital until it hits the 50-7774 DAC.
#23
23rd October 2008
Old 23rd October 2008
  #23
Lives for gear
 
Tibbon's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: OH/Columbus
Posts: 4,793

Send a message via AIM to Tibbon Send a message via Skype™ to Tibbon
Tibbon is offline
Sounds interesting. I'm willing to give one a shot. Wonder how it compares to a DAC-1 or even a Mackie 400f...?
__________________
David Fisher (aka tibbon)
#24
24th October 2008
Old 24th October 2008
  #24
Lives for gear
 
Jimbo's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Pennsyltucky
Posts: 2,767

Jimbo is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by iomegaman View Post
Well if you need a chip let me know, National is sending me 2 and I'll be glad to snaill mail ya one...once it gets here that is...just pm if you need it.
Thanks Omega Man!

That's a nice offer, and I'll let you know...
#25
24th October 2008
Old 24th October 2008
  #25
Lives for gear
 
Jimbo's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Pennsyltucky
Posts: 2,767

Jimbo is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Williams View Post
I installed the Analog Devices ADA4898-1 on a Brown Dog 031101A header and put it in.
Jim, are you using two AD chips on that BD adapter, or is the adapter just acting as a harness (for pinout compatibility) between the ADA4898 and the main board?

Thanks!
#26
24th October 2008
Old 24th October 2008
  #26
Lives for gear
 
iomegaman's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Location: 35° 8' N 111° 40' W
Posts: 854

iomegaman is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimbo View Post
Are you using two AD chips on that BD adapter, or does the adapter just acting as a harness (for pinout compatibility) between the ADA4898 and the main board?

Thanks!
I'm sorta following Mr. Williams here I ordered the browndog and AD parts today...still I wish there was good replacement for the headphone amp...I'll dig around myself...but I haven't gotten my DAC yet so I'm shooting in the dark til I see it.
Jim Williams
Thread Starter
#27
25th October 2008
Old 25th October 2008
  #27
Gear Guru
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 10,252
My Recordings/Credits

Thread Starter
Jim Williams is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimbo View Post
Jim, are you using two AD chips on that BD adapter, or is the adapter just acting as a harness (for pinout compatibility) between the ADA4898 and the main board?

Thanks!
The 2 ADA4898-1 chips are soldered to the adaptor, then it's soldered down onto the pcb. It's a vertical mount adaptor, very clever. It fits well but I removed the tall 470 uf caps to make some soldering room for it. It also has pins for 8 pin dips on it as well.

Jim Williams
Audio Upgrades
#28
25th October 2008
Old 25th October 2008
  #28
Gear nut
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 125

jsaliba is offline
This may be a somewhat naive question, but would this $79 DAC be a significant improvement to monitoring through the built in converters on a DIGI 001?
#29
26th October 2008
Old 26th October 2008
  #29
Lives for gear
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Tuxtla Gutierrez, Chiapas
Posts: 925

Send a message via MSN to lukejs
lukejs is offline
79 dollars ? now it's $ 105 !!

Supply and demand for ya..... did all you guys go out and buy this, or what ?

Jim, how much would you charge me to mod this like yours ? ( except for the LEDS and cosmetic stuff) Please pm if interested..
#30
26th October 2008
Old 26th October 2008
  #30
Lives for gear
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Tuxtla Gutierrez, Chiapas
Posts: 925

Send a message via MSN to lukejs
lukejs is offline
This has unbalanced -10 dBV outs then, right ?

would the fact that the outputs are -10 dBV and not pro level +4 dBV cause problems for me in my studio ? Would I have to buy an unbalanced to balanced gizmo and bring the levels up to +4 ? how do you incorporate a product like this into a pro studio ? If used for mastering, would you send the output through a preamp ?
New Reply Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook  Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter  Submit Thread to LinkedIn LinkedIn  Submit Thread to Google+ Google+ 
 
Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Similar Threads
Thread
Thread Starter / Forum
Replies
moi / So much gear, so little time!
1

Forum Jump

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.