Canon 5D mk II
New Reply
Subscribe
Noise Commander
4th March 2012
Old 4th March 2012
Gear addict

Canon 5D mk II

Does anyone have experience in filming with a Canon 5D mk II??

I intend to make some performance videos in the studio.
Although I make some photographs from time to time with an average Canon 400D, I have no experience in filming...

I'd like to buy a 5D MK II to get somehow professional results when filming unplugged performances in the studio, or at home...
Can you help me choosing the right lens??

Would you recommend a 35mm 1:1,4 L, a 24-70mm 1:2.8 L, a 135mm 2,0 L, or a 24-105mm 1:4,0 L or something else for filming?? I want everything to look really professional and TV/movie like. Remember, I will probably film in small and mid-sized rooms and locations.

Would be nice if you could help me with the lens.

What setting would you start with on the camera?

And is any processing, like coloring, contrast etc necessary to get a professional look? What software do you recommend to get videoclip look? Or a warm sixties retro look? Adobe after effects? Magic bullet? How to change the general looks and colors easily?

Cutting and editing? Final Cut Pro?
BTW I'm on mac (imac 27")

Please help me, that would be great!

What lens?
What processing software?
4th March 2012
Old 4th March 2012
Gearslutz.com admin

There is a mark 3 coming out soon.

There are a lot of people using these cameras for film projects. They also use hacked / modified software to improve the camera's performance for filming. Search around on google and I bet you will find some cool and helpful stuff.
4th March 2012
Old 4th March 2012
Lives for gear

I've been holding out for the mk3, don't want to buy anything untill I at least see what it brings to the table.

4th March 2012
Old 4th March 2012
Gear nut

The new breed of SLRs have pretty much replaced semi-pro camcorders completely so the 5D is definitely a great option!

Like the others said, I'd wait to see what the mk3 offers.