Login / Register

Experienced Musician but New to Electronica.Requesting assistance.
New Reply
Subscribe
somedevil
13th January 2014
Old 13th January 2014
Gear interested

Experienced Musician but New to Electronica.Requesting assistance.

Hey guys.

so i have been a musician for a long time and i am very curious about all these electronic musicians making some amazing music. As a bass player all this really appeals to me and i want to get into it 100% and create great songs.

I know logic well and i have bought and started learning Ableton live yesterday. It's pretty unique. Great to put ideas down.

I have figured out how to make beats. How to sequence groovy patterns however i am struggling hard with pads and basses. I don't play keyboard and don't know anything about synthesis (and honestly not too keen to spend months learning it). I see a lot of videos on youtube but not all are good. As i am not well versed with genres of electronica i don't even know what i need to search for.

So i'm asking the electronica veterans here. What advice would you give to someone whose starting out and wants to make great music ?

What should i be practicing on a daily basis ? How do i learn to make sounds ? any other advice ? I have a lot of lyrical and melodic ideas however i always used to express it in the form of guitar based music. Now im keen to do it via electronic medium.

I'm pasting a few examples of the songs i like. I'm not really into the instrumental dance music genres however some of the melodious songs with scant vocals appeal to me a lot. What's that genre called ? ha ha No idea.

Pretty much a lot of songs that are there on this channel. Just love this kind of music. Majestic Casual - YouTube

I would appreciate any help from you guys
cheers !
13th January 2014
Old 13th January 2014
Lives for gear

If you really want this:

Quote:
Originally Posted by somedevil View Post
What advice would you give to someone whose starting out and wants to make great music ?