Login / Register

I'm new and need some advice from veterans :)
New Reply
Subscribe
quantumbug
20th July 2013
Old 20th July 2013
Gear interested

I'm new and need some advice from veterans :)

Hi all I'm a complete newbi!

I love electronic music and have done since I was a child! When I was young I had the opportunity to learn instruments but never took the time. I'm a lot older and a lot more patient, and would like to learn how to play the keyboard. My main goal in the end would be to produce tunes, love my hardtrance, psytrance, hardstyle and other similar genres.

I will be getting a synthesizer! but as you all are know there are a lot and a lot at very different prices! I'm on a budget and as I have no idea how to actually play one don't want to spend a lot for my entry level synth. Having done a lot of research at my budget of ~£400 most synths have only a couple of the options I might want. This is where you guys come in!

I want HARDWARE! , I've toyed with fruity loops and ableton but realy want to interface with a piece of hardware and learn the keyboard part. My questions are what would you recommend for my budget and the genre I like?

I've looked at the Novation MiniNova and this seems like a real nice synth, but it isn't multitimbral, will this be a problem or can I use this to interface with ableton and lay down a track? would it be worth me stretching my budget to get the UltrNova if this is a viable option?
The other I looked at was the Yamaha MX49, which is multitimral and has some real good old preset sounds (although that not to important as I'm up for tweaking and making my own!)
The microKorg which is in the same category has the Novation, but seems to have less synth capability.

Would love to hear your comments! Cheers dudes!
20th July 2013
Old 20th July 2013
Lives for gear

I recommend trying to find a virus KB or KC. This synth almost defined trance. Its 16 part multi timbral and can do an amazing palette of sounds.

my .02
20th July 2013