Guitar player looking to get into Synths
Old 20th July 2013
Gear nut

Guitar player looking to get into Synths

Hello everyone,

I am a guitarist and have been for around 8 years. Recently I've got very interested in Synthesizers and the new musical possibilities that they would have to offer me. I listen to everything from fusion type music like Allan Holdsworth and Miles Davis to experimental electronic music like Shpongle and doomish/black metal type music. Hence, getting and learning to play a snyth would be good for me as I want to make experimental type music of my own.

I'm very new to the whole thing though. At the moment I'm thinking I might want a Polyphonic Analog synth of some sort (I'm interested in the Russian type ones). What advice would the experienced synth users on this site have for me?

Regards.
William.
Old 20th July 2013
Lives for gear

The Roland GR-55 guitar synth would give you some immediate satisfaction. If you got a cheap USB controller keyboard you could start downloading hundreds of software synths that are extremely powerful these days. Many modern genres are pretty much created with software, and most of the vintage synth stuff has been pretty much nailed in software too.

Just dive in and get something - you can't go too far wrong. It's all a matter of taste and opinion ... a good player can make magic happen with just about any synth. Getting something rare or old or cheap/unappreciated can be a way of getting unique sounds. But getting something good and popular might give you more satisfaction. Ultimately you will want a whole room full of them anyway ...

What is your budget?

I'm loving my Roland Intergra-7 module - that's my desert island synth of today ...
Old 20th July 2013
Gear nut

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kiwi View Post