Login / Register

good headphones for listening + production under $600?
New Reply
Subscribe
mrkm
26th May 2013
Old 26th May 2013
Gear interested

good headphones for listening + production under $600?

i'm looking for a quality set of cans to use for both listening as well as production under $600. hoping all you edumacated folks on here can help me make a decision.

i listen to mainly deep house and ambient idm stuff (think boards of canada, aphex twin, tycho, etc.).

from a production standpoint, would also be for the above types of music- mainly deep house.

since i'm a noob at this, i'm wondering if i can get away with plugging them straight into my dac (in my case, an audiolab m-dac) or if it's an absolute necessity i get a dedicated preamp of some sort? what about when using them for production?

ot: i've read that headphones, regardless of calibre, have a relatively short life compared to speakers. is this true or is it just some bs?
26th May 2013
Old 26th May 2013
Lives for gear

My Sennheiser HD 600 ran about $600. I have no complaints, but there are open back. So not ideal for tracking vocals, but a great option for mixing headphones.
26th May 2013
Old 26th May 2013
Lives for gear

Send a message via AIM to StephenWiley
That's a pretty large budget. Honestly, I wouldn't drop $600 until you have a better understanding of production and headphones.

First, I would get two pairs. You need two different designs. (closed for listening, open/partial for production) You mentioned listening as well as production. Get a pair of Sony MDR-7510's for listening. (it's a closed headphone, you will want an open/partial set of cans for production)