Beginner's Guide to Electronic Music Production
jtayl711
11th May 2013
Old 11th May 2013
Gear Head

Beginner's Guide to Electronic Music Production

Hello slutz,

I'm starting to get interested in electronic music. I'm just starting to get a taste for it and I'd like to learn how to produce my own. Some of the artists I seem to like include Daft Punk, Skrillex, Glitch Mob, Passion Pit, Bassnectar, a few others I can't recall...

I'm somewhat knowledgable on music theory, understand composition and have experience recording and mixing in various DAWs. I've been playing guitar and piano for about 12 years now so I'm a decent musician. I understand audio interfaces and signal flow pretty well, I do live sound work pretty frequently.

What I don't have any experience with is synthesizers, filters, sound design, midi (to an extent), etc.

Where do I begin? I have Pro Tools and Reaper, I hear a lot of people are using Ableton for this kind of stuff...are there books I should read? Videos I should watch? How do I learn to tweak LFOs and filters to get sounds I'm looking for...how do I know which paramaters to automate, and how to automate them?

I think you guys see what I'm getting at.

Thanks
11th May 2013
Old 11th May 2013
Lives for gear

Google
Youtube
Computer Music Magazine
Future Music Magazine
Sound on Sound articles online
11th May 2013
Old 11th May 2013
11th May 2013
Old 11th May 2013
Lives for gear

it just takes time, a lot of it. best thing to do is dive into it and experiment. search google for answers to questions that come up in the process.
11th May 2013
Old 11th May 2013
Gear nut

Buy some MIDI file packs in your favourite genre and learn all of them.