Akai MPD32 or MPC?
New Reply
Subscribe
KidA
17th April 2013
Old 17th April 2013
Gear nut

Akai MPD32 or MPC?

I've been programming drums in Logic for almost 10 years. I'm very comfortable with it and I really like the sequencer. For the most part I've always programmed drums for demo songs for bands I'm in, but for the past few years I've slowly been gravitating towards creating downtempo electronic music (BoC, Tycho, BMSR, etc). Now I've decided to dedicate all my time to this solo electronic project. One thing I'm missing is that classic MPC feel to the grooves. Logic's built in swing functions aren't that great. I've downloaded several MPC groove templates, but none of them are any better than Logic's built in groove templates. I'm looking for something, hardware or software, to accomplish this. I primarily use my own samples and downloaded samples in EXS24. I also use Addictive Drums, EZ Drummer, Battery 3 and Stylus RMX. My budget is around $400 - $500, but I would prefer to put that towards other studio gear and synths. If anyone knows where I can get legitimate MPC groove templates for Logic that would be awesome! Otherwise I'm considering the 2 options below...