Hardware sampler with DSD conversion and MacBeth filters
New Reply
Subscribe
Karloff70
1st March 2013
Old 1st March 2013
Geariophile

Hardware sampler with DSD conversion and MacBeth filters

I want a hardware rack sampler with DSD conversion, like on the Korg MR2000S units, analog filters designed by Ken MacBeth and an operating system that resembles an S1000, but with loads of added modulation possibilities (and at least 6 stage envelopes) and at least 10 outs.

Now who's going to build it?
1st March 2013
Old 1st March 2013
Gear Guru

Has anyone figured out DSD in sampling-related context yet or is that just a matter of taking the 2.8MHz clock and speeding it up/slowing it down?
1st March 2013
Old 1st March 2013
Lives for gear

so you want to sample at a ridiculously high bitrate right? What are the benefits of this, I'm new to DSD.

The filter and modulation ideas are lavvvly though!

Elmo Sexwhistle - Minor/Major now available on iTunes and Amazon.
1st March 2013
Old 1st March 2013
3 + infractions, forum membership suspended.

sounds like one of those things that would be crazy expensive now, but in 10 years will be a hundred bucks,
1st March 2013
Old 1st March 2013

Quote:
Originally Posted by Karloff70 View Post
I want a hardware rack sampler with DSD conversion, like on the Korg MR2000S units, analog filters designed by Ken MacBeth and an operating system that resembles an S1000, but with loads of added modulation possibilities (and at least 6 stage envelopes) and at least 10 outs.

Now who's going to build it?
You could put converters such as the Mytek stereo 192 DAC on the end of an MPC 2500, and then route it's outputs through a small modular with a choice of envelopes, filters, sequencers etc.
You'd have to program the samples in such a way that it makes sense to use with that "backend". Also you'd want to have some control from that MPC over your envelopes, sequencers, VCAs, filters etc. so you'd need to have a tight midi-cv gate going.