Please help me break down the synths in this song
New Reply
Subscribe
DocOck
14th February 2013
Old 14th February 2013
Gear Head

Please help me break down the synths in this song

I am still pretty new to synths in general, so I really hope you guys can help me trying to figure out what kind of synths and how many layers there are in this song. It would really help me a lot in getting better at making and understanding synths. Thanks!

The Saturdays - What About Us - YouTube

Intro/verse @ 0:00 - 0:30: What kind of synths are here? There's something that gives a bassy feel, but is it just one synth playing low octaves as well?

Chorus @ 0:38 - 0:54: How many synth layers do you think this is? Or is it a single synth with many oscillators? Is it saw waves?

Chorus pt. 2: 0:54 - 1:07: So this is the part I am most curious about. This part sounds very fat, crunchy and wide. How do they achieve that? What are the synths that are sidechaining here? There's obviously a bass, but what kind, and is it also contributing to the "crunchy" sound? Or is that mainly the synth(s) on top of the bass (that you can here alone @ 2:13)? And what kind of synth is that? Maybe there are more than this one synth on top of the bass in the chorus? Which synth gives the mid frequencies? And how do they get the whole thing to sound so crisp/crunchy without "stabbing" in your ears?

I have a really hard time creating a bass that sounds fat and crunchy, so when I heard the chorus in this song, I was like "wow, that's exactly what I am looking for". So I really want to know what kind of bass that is, and what's on top of it. Maybe it's not even the bass that gives the sound that I am looking for, but I can't tell where the bass "ends" and where the synths on top "begin", and how many layers there are.

Hope you guys can help me out.

Thanks a lot!
DocOck
15th February 2013
Old 15th February 2013
Gear Head

Anyone?
15th February 2013
Old 15th February 2013
Gear Guru

Quote: