Inexpensive synth to learn the basics
New Reply
Subscribe
Aaron Cotton
25th January 2013
Old 25th January 2013
Gear nut

Inexpensive synth to learn the basics

I did some searching and found no topics on exactly this question, so let me be as detailed as possible to hopefully receive some knowledge from you guys.

Right now, I'm a fully ITB composer, and I wish to more fully understand the ins and outs of additive / subtractive synthesis. The most fully featured instrument I have is Native Instruments Massive. While I really like software (I'm sure I'm in the minority there) I really think it would help to have a hardware synth, with knobs / sliders to more fully understand whats going on.

I don't especially care about the sound quality (although it's a plus) since at first this will be a learning tool only. What I really need is a synth with 1 slider or knob per parameter and they need to be physical controls, so this rules out rack mounts and software. As far as I know this leaves me with 2 possible groups of synths, 1) Analog 2) Virtual Analog. I dont need a workstation, or any sequencing. I probably dont need any sort of patch memory. I would prefer polyphonic rather than mono.

Obviously, since this is for learning, I would like it as inexpensive as possible. Here are some choices I have gathered, if you guys have any additions or comments on this list, I would love to know.

Analog synths:
Juno 60 ($900)
Akai AX-60
Juno 106 ($700)

Virtual Analog Synths:
Novation X-Station ($250)
Korg Microkorg
Roland JP-8000 ($650)
Roland SH-201 ($350)
Alesis Ion ($500)
Korg MS2000 ($500)
Gaia SH-01 ($500)
Korg RADIAS ($650)
Nord Lead 2 ($700)

Mono Synths:
Dark Energy ($500)
Minibrute ($450)
Ms-20 ($?)
25th January 2013
Old 25th January 2013
Gear addict

Actually your question has been asked before. Perhaps try searching for some of the listed synths by name.