What is the best MIDI keyboard for musical range?
swampert948
30th December 2012
Old 30th December 2012
Gear interested

What is the best MIDI keyboard for musical range?

I am looking to buy a MIDI keyboard which has a lot of range, so a lot of notes basically. I'm not looking for it to have any other features. I want it for songwriting rather than synthesis, so i would like to find one that has near to the same amount of keys as a regular piano if that is possible? I'm new to buying my own gear so I have no idea what's available, whatever you guys can suggest would be great, thank you.
30th December 2012
Old 30th December 2012
Gear interested
Quote:
Originally Posted by swampert948 View Post
I am looking to buy a MIDI keyboard which has a lot of range, so a lot of notes basically. I'm not looking for it to have any other features. I want it for songwriting rather than synthesis, so i would like to find one that has near to the same amount of keys as a regular piano if that is possible? I'm new to buying my own gear so I have no idea what's available, whatever you guys can suggest would be great, thank you.
M-Audio Keystation 88ES. $200 - 240. 88 keys, "semi-weighted" (which just means stronger springs), pitch bend, mod wheel, volume slider. USB. Foot control for sustain and volume. As far as I know it is the only product in that price range with 88 keys. Check out a guy named Torley on You Tube to see this board in action. Otherwise you will have to get 88 weighted Keys. Akai, M-Audio, Roland and a couple of others make these. Priced from about $600 to $1000. But these will have the "other features" which you may not want to pay for.

Or, you could get an electric piano. $600 and up. If you wanted weighted keys with a minimum of frills. Make sure there is USB connectivity and you are set.
swampert948
30th December 2012
Old 30th December 2012
Gear interested