Headphones for producing EDM
Old 26th December 2012
Gear interested

Headphones for producing EDM

I am completely aware that this thread has been made before, but I am making this thread to help me personally with the knowledge and opinions of my fellow gearslutz.

Ok, a little background on me and my setup- I am an electronic music producer that mostly makes bass-heavy dance music. Not just one specific genre, I make House, Electro, Dubstep, 110bpm stuff, Trap... Literally anything I can try to make, I will. as long as its exciting to spin. I have KRK Rockit 8s for my studio monitors.

Now here's where I need help- I currently have Sennheiser HD 280 pro headphones right now that I do quite a bit of producing in (when i'm in my dorm room or somewhere I don't have access to my monitors). I really feel like this is hindering my mixes because the translation between the two isn't good. I have been looking in to the AKG k701/702s the most lately, but I really don't know enough about the science behind headphones to know what a good buy is.

I do not have a specific budget- I am willing to spend as much as necessary to get good headphones. I just don't know which ones to get, whether to get open or closed back or anything... I think all of this is enough information, but if you need to know more, feel free to ask. I just really need something that will translate so I don't **** up my mixes from the start. Thanks.
Old 26th December 2012
Lives for gear

The HD280's are good phones....

Have you considered picking up a Focusrite VRM box instead?

I have used it in the past and for what it does (provide multiple 'reference' points / simulations) it works quite well.

Would be cheaper by far than a pair of 701's / 702's, and I think it would help you find the holes in your mix.

Best of luck.
Old 26th December 2012
Gear addict

I have the Beyer Dynamic DT 770 Pros and I don't like them at all. So, I picked up the Sennheiser HD 380 Pros and I LOVE THEM!!!