New Reply
Subscribe
medearis
19th November 2012
Old 19th November 2012
Gear addict

Dedicated Sound Design Days?

Hey errrrbody,

I have a really, really deep addiction to sound design/exploration. I'm a drummer who became a full-time synth geek about three years ago (thanks to the Machinedrum). I now have this "problem" of always tweaking sounds. I have set aside dedicated studio days where I just go in with the mentality "JUST MAKE SOUNDS". It's been kick ass and I've leveled-up my sound-synthesis by doing this and I never really feel bad about it either, it's quite meditative.

Guess I'm wondering if anyone else finds themselves excited to just sit and tweak away... completely juxtaposed to music creation itself.

Every Monday night I go into the studio to simply explore sound & synthesis.. sometimes alone or with my partner-in-crime. It's insanely fresh to go in there KNOWING we're not going to work on writing/organizing a song (unless it just happens of course).

Anyone else in this boat? I'd love to read some of your experiences, maybe some sound-epiphany moments (AKA "AH-HAH! So that's how it works.)

Peace!

19th November 2012
Old 19th November 2012
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by medearis View Post
Hey errrrbody,

I have a really, really deep addiction to sound design/exploration. I'm a drummer who became a full-time synth geek about three years ago (thanks to the Machinedrum). I now have this "problem" of always tweaking sounds. I have set aside dedicated studio days where I just go in with the mentality "JUST MAKE SOUNDS". It's been kick ass and I've leveled-up my sound-synthesis by doing this and I never really feel bad about it either, it's quite meditative.

Guess I'm wondering if anyone else finds themselves excited to just sit and tweak away... completely juxtaposed to music creation itself.