How to SEND midi notes on all channels?
New Reply
Subscribe
pianojam
18th November 2012
Old 18th November 2012
Gear interested

How to SEND midi notes on all channels?

A little long winded, but hopefully I explain my question clear enough to get a good answer.

I realize this is not the normal way to do things, judging by the lack of information I've been able to find on it, but can I have a master keyboard send its note/sustain/etc. messages to all 16 channels at once - or is there a box that can change one channel to all? My Roland RD700 NX can't do this. Each of its four "zones" can only send to one channel at a time, for a total of 4 midi channels going out of its 1 or 2 MIDI ports. I like the sounds and action on the RD, so I'd like to keep it as the master if I can. I also have a CFE UF-80 dedicated controller but it doesn't do more than one note channel either (although its faders can be assigned to different channels). The reason I need all channels is for my unique setup, as I'll try to graph below and explain here: