Hardware is SO fun!
New Reply
Subscribe
samwell7
21st September 2012
Old 21st September 2012
Gear maniac

Hardware is SO fun!

After having my Microkorg staring at me on my desk for weeks as I studied I decided to turn it on and have a play hooked up to ableton.

This is the first time I've done any Hybrid stuff, I don't have a USB-MIDI cable so I played the keyboard myself.
Obviously the song isn't very polished and I've spent like no time fixing it up, everything except for drums is Microkorg with a bit of Sidechaining, slight EQ and some saturation.
There's an oxford limiter on the master bus.
I made all the patches also.

Now I'm about 800 times more excited to get my minibrute so the 2 can play together!

are there any tips for doing stuff hybrid? should I get a better interface? at the moment I'm running a Komplete Audio 6,
Thinking of getting a distortion pedal next up

P.s Don't mind the super-cheap drums on the way in! ahha
http://soundcloud.com/samuelietto/playing-with-my-microkorg
21st September 2012
Old 21st September 2012
Lives for gear

My Recordings/Credits

I use around half hardware, half software....its great fun, sonically there might not be a huge chasm of difference but it involves you more imo...good on ya

If you do use midi try not to quantise, it tightens up your playing and can add a liitle groove
21st September 2012
Old 21st September 2012
Lives for gear

I try to use 1/3 hardware, 1/3 software and 1/3 vaporware. The Boomstar is really adding something different to my setup.
21st September 2012
Old 21st September 2012
Gear maniac

Yeah that's how I got a bit of a triplet thing happening with the bassline towards the end haha just me playing without MIDI.
It makes it a lot more fun and involving, I feel like I'm just beginning to learn how to make music again.
I'll check out the boomstar!

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus
21st September 2012
Old 21st September 2012
Lives for gear