Login / Register

Mixing tips/A good way to go about mixing?
New Reply
Subscribe
pichuscute
21st September 2012
Old 21st September 2012
Gear interested

Mixing tips/A good way to go about mixing?

So, I'm a Drum and Bass producer, and I have been producing (in FL Studio) for something like 5 years now. However, I still run into pretty major mixing problems quite often, and I'm not sure what I'm doing "wrong". I seem to know most techniques used during mixing and mastering and I have a decent way to monitor. My mastered files just don't sound clean or crisp like professional artists' songs.

So, I'm wondering if I can get any good advice from guys who are pretty experienced about how exactly to go about mixing. Maybe, how much EQ to use, compression, limiting, effects, etc. (basically workflow) And how to best go about panning and get a good stereo image.

Anyway, thanks to anyone who responds. I know these are big questions.
21st September 2012
Old 21st September 2012
Lives for gear

i think you need to articulate more clearly (for yourself) what exact deficits your mixes have. being less 'clean or crisp' than artist x is too ambiguous to use as a basis for knowing what you need to work on or change.

formulas and other people's workflow are meaningless and won't get you any closer to achieving more cleanliness or crispness.

you have to know what EXACTLY about your mixing isn't satisfying to you. when you have a good grasp of that, you'll then have a good idea of what you need to do differently.
pichuscute
21st September 2012
Old 21st September 2012
Gear interested