Midi controler,not the most expensive one
kacperson
13th May 2012
Old 13th May 2012
Lives for gear

Midi controler,not the most expensive one

Hi folks

Well,yesterday while producing i thought that it would be great to touch knobs,twist it and toy with sounds. And as a still not a production guru it is too early (and expensive) to get analog synth .

So i wanted to ask you for recommendation,hint,as im total newb in this area.
I want to buy a controller that will enable me to control my vst synths,twist knobs and stuff.It must be handy,meaning its use/configuration wont be a black magic. And it must quite easilly work with vst's.

I will add,that i work in ableton live.And if you suggest something guys please let it be reasonably priced,that would be my first controller,and also im a student,so still kinda on a budget as my work doesnt supply all such needs yet :(

I want it to be one of my first steps towards gearsluttinnes
13th May 2012
Old 13th May 2012
Lives for gear

kacperson
13th May 2012
Old 13th May 2012
Lives for gear

just read about it,looks neat and price is not killing me,so i add it to something i will observe and wait for more suggestions to have some kind of wider choice,thx mate
13th May 2012
Old 13th May 2012
Lives for gear

Or if you just want to try something out cheap:

Can't beat it for $60.
kacperson
13th May 2012
Old 13th May 2012
Lives for gear

yeah i seen those mini controllers,but i dunno how much limited is their functionality to those more expensive ones. are they "less" intelligent,meaning they do not handle so good vsts ,or it is just a matter of additional knobs,pads etc ?
13th May 2012
Old 13th May 2012
Lives for gear

The knobs and sliders function the same way. The only difference is that Novation has automap which is highly polarizing. I hated Automap, as did many others.
kacperson
13th May 2012
Old 13th May 2012
Lives for gear