Is the Nord Wave a hardware Absynth?
New Reply
Subscribe
mallarme
10th May 2012
Old 10th May 2012
Gear Head

Is the Nord Wave a hardware Absynth?

I mean, more or less, and obviously without all the envelopes of the software, and the filters... ?
10th May 2012
Old 10th May 2012
Lives for gear

Funny you should ask - I have a Wave and although I have no experience with Absynth, I just bought Skanner XT, based on Reaktor, and in some ways its aggressive sound is similar to a lot of the sounds I get from the Wave.

EIDT: wow, just below my post an ebay add for a 3-month old Wave that's waaay cheap.
mallarme
10th May 2012
Old 10th May 2012
Gear Head

I know! I saw that ad, but I'm highly suspicious... I'm totally lusting for a Wave. I want the hardware action, and being able to have a decent piano in my synth...

I decided not to do the workstation route because honestly, I don't need all the stuff that they usually come with, and am really into ambient music of the minimal/noisy/glitchy kind... But I do wanna have a good piano sound, a good rhodes sound, to play now and then...

And FM is key! I love the sound of a sine pad, or any sine modulated noise...
10th May 2012
Old 10th May 2012
Lives for gear

Yep, I love the sample side and the FM side of the Wave, both very easy to dial in. To be honest, apart from the well-documented omissions of the Wave (non-sync LFOs, no arp, etc) I love the synth. As I have said in several threads, so I'll leave this one open for anyone else who might chime in.

And yes, that ad did seem suspiciously cheap.
10th May 2012
Old 10th May 2012
Lives for gear

... but as far as the original question, i can't imagine it's anywhere near what Absynth is capable of? what exactly can you do with a sample on the Wave besides play it back and run it through the filter?
10th May 2012
Old 10th May 2012
Banned

Quote:
Originally Posted by mallarme View Post