Login / Register

Synths cut through too much alongside my 12bit samplers. How to fix mix? Compressors?
New Reply
Subscribe
fooddude
26th April 2012
Old 26th April 2012
Lives for gear

Synths cut through too much alongside my 12bit samplers. How to fix mix? Compressors?

I am 100% hardware. Also record mix buss to Otari 2-track. I am pretty new at production. Main seq is mpc60. Main and only samplers are the mpc60 and s950; which I use all the time, for everything from drums, percs, sound fx, vox samples, loops, etc., etc.

My synths are M1000, TX81Z, Juno 60 and ESQ1; all pretty much considered "dirty". But, I still think they all "pop" and cut through waaay too much in the mix, when being used with so much tracks/layers from my mpc60/s950. I like the sound of the mpc60/s950, it's perfect to me, so I have no complaints there.

And yes, I know I can sample the synths into my 12bit samplers too, to make them mix and match better with the 12bit drums/percs/samples; which I Already do a lot. But, I would like to actually feel the freedom of using my synths more without worrying about them cutting through much and standing out too much. The only thing I probably use them midi'd/seq'ed up in the mix is for bass duties and occasional sound fx (IF I find a patch dirty/rough enough); but my main problem is that strings, pads, keyboard sounds, or almost anything else from my synths just plain pop and cut through waay too much...mainly on patches and sounds in the mid and high frequency registers.

What would solve this?

EQ'ing I already do, and I think it is a crappy solution, but helps a little.

Analog filter? I have an FF, and I honestly think this is a so-so solution as well, as it just subtracts frequencies, similar to EQ.