Login / Register

Can I plug my ddrum drum trigger kit directly into my interface to record midi drums?
New Reply
Subscribe
nickolai252
10th April 2012
Old 10th April 2012
Gear interested

Can I plug my ddrum drum trigger kit directly into my interface to record midi drums?

Can I plug my ddrum drum trigger kit directly into my firestudio project interface to record midi drums with ezdrummer instead of buying a trigger to midi converter?

I've never tried before and can't seem to find a straight answer online on how to do it. I'm using Logic Pro 9 and plan on plugging from the trigger directly into my Firestudio and using ezdrummer for my midi kit.

Questions:
1.What other plugins do I need for Logic to process the signal?
2.Will I still get the variety of velocity depending on how hard the drums are hit or is it just a standard velocity?
3. Is there going to be a latency issue?

If you're asking yourself "why don't you mic up the kit?" the reason is b/c I live in a small duplex and these recordings are for our preproduction. I still plan on using overheads for the cymbals, etc.

Thanks in advance!
jrp
10th April 2012
Old 10th April 2012
jrp
Lives for gear

might work with some kind of drum exchanger plugin. Te triggers will send a short click to the interface when hit, the stronger you hit them the louder the click will be. You could also build a analog trigger to midi converter, or use a drumcomputer that has trigger ins and midi out.
12th April 2012
Old 12th April 2012
Shark Sandwich

My Studio

Connecting drum triggers directly to preamps as if they were mics, then using the blip they produce with drum replacement software is the way to go. It's so easy, and they pocket with the other drums more easily, since you don't have to commit a midi sound to a new audio track before editing for time.
12th April 2012
Old 12th April 2012
jrp
Lives for gear

and timing is better since no serial slow midi handling...
nickolai252
12th April 2012
Old 12th April 2012