What kind of programming hell am I getting in to (SQR-1)?
nebelfrau
17th March 2012
Old 17th March 2012
Lives for gear

What kind of programming hell am I getting in to (SQR-1)? Also, dead battery.

Noodling around on eBay for an ESI-32, of which I need no intro to, and an auction pops up for one that includes Ensoniq's SQR-1, and since I like new toys, especially when they are on the cheap, I went for it. The auction says it comes with the manual, but to get a head start I do some googling and thread searching for said synth... Not much luck.

I keep getting results for the ESQ, which would be fine if I had ever used one, but I have NO experience with. In fact, I have no hands on experience with any Ensoniq product. I've read that the Mirage (I know it's a sampler) runs on HEX, are their other synth products the same? I'm not daunted by my purchase, but I suppose what I am getting at is... Is the front panel enough? Should I invest in an especially knobby MIDI controller to really "unleash" it? Thoughts? Any owners, past or present, want to chime in?

Posted from my colon.

Edit: No wonder I couldn't find it, seller listed it as SQR-1 when it is in fact SQ-R. Told you I have no Ensoniq experience
nebelfrau
17th March 2012
Old 17th March 2012
Lives for gear

Ok, I'll try something else....

The battery in the SQR-1 is dead and needs to be replaced. Initially I figured I could just leave it like that, as I won't be using the presets, but if the interface isn't particularily inviting, I may want to save any of my patches. SO any suggestions for this? It seems most rackmount synths have easily replaceable batteries. Digital anyway. But I'm going nowhere fast in my searches. Back to google!
17th March 2012
Old 17th March 2012
Gear maniac

Quote:
Originally Posted by nebelfrau View Post
Ok, I'll try something else....