Octatrack and Cirklon
New Reply
Subscribe
Gringo Starr
3rd September 2011
Old 3rd September 2011
Lives for gear

Octatrack and Cirklon

Just wanting some advice here. I have never owned a sequencer or a sampler. I saw several videos on the Cirklon and it's definitely something I plan on buying within the next 6 months.

Now Sweetwater is having a deal where you can buy something and have a year to pay it off interest free and I'm considering getting an Octatrack. I thought this looked like a really good user friendly sampler. However I have no experience with samplers so I could be wrong. Since I'm planning on getting the Cirklon, would buying an Octatrack be paying to much just for a sampler? I know the Octatrack can be used as a sequencer too but if I had the Cirklon I guess I wouldn't need it's sequencer. Right? Any opinions are appreciated.

So I guess what I want to know is, would having both make good sense from a practical point of view?
DSK
3rd September 2011
Old 3rd September 2011
DSK
Lives for gear

From my understanding of these two machines is that they are different while similar.

The Cirklon is a crazy advanced sequencer with more midi outs and cv capabilities, while the Octatrack is more of a sampler. It can do sequences but it's primary usage is for a kind of Ableton in a box.

If I had many synths+drum machines the Cirklon hands down.

If I want to skip the computer and load samples to make new stuff Octatrack.

That's why I personally am going for a Tempest
Gringo Starr
3rd September 2011
Old 3rd September 2011
Lives for gear

No I'm definitely a computer guy. I record in Logic. I would be using the Octatrack strictly to put my own music/tracks into and manipulating them. So is there a better choice for a sampler if thats how I want to use it? I want as many manipulating options as possible.
DSK
3rd September 2011
Old 3rd September 2011
DSK
Lives for gear