johnsmith1261
24th June 2009
Old 24th June 2009
Gear addict

alpha juno tips

Hi!

I've got a Roland Alpha Juno 2 synth. I'm very new to synth programming and curious if you guys have some tips for this unit.

For example I'm having trouble programming a good goa bass on it. Maybe it's not especially good for that, maybe I'm just too rookie

I have a couple of questions:
- What tasks do you usually use this synth for? (leads, pads, bass etc.)
- Do you use additional effects on it, or do you consider its pure sound up to these tasks?
- Do you have any tips for programming it?

Thanks,
j
24th June 2009
Old 24th June 2009
Lives for gear
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnsmith1261 View Post
Hi!

I've got a Roland Alpha Juno 2 synth. I'm very new to synth programming and curious if you guys have some tips for this unit.

For example I'm having trouble programming a good goa bass on it. Maybe it's not especially good for that, maybe I'm just too rookie

I have a couple of questions:
- Do you use additional effects on it, or do you consider its pure sound up to these tasks?

Thanks,
j
If you're using the front panel you might find it pretty slow-going compared to using a knob-box or software editor.

There's a virtual PG-300 around somewhere, can't find it at the mo but here's another one:

discointellect : software

With my MKS50 I've found the bass presets can easily be improved on - things like the strings/pads are pretty good already. For a heavy bass sound, set VCA to Gate/Non-dynamic (rather than Env), ensure the HPF is off, set the Env to a nice plucky shape, maybe add the sub-osc and twiddle the filter cutoff, res and Filter Env amount to taste.

The chorus is a big part of the Juno sound - combine the PWM with the chorus and you get a lovely warm, wide and animated sound. When you look at the Juno features it looks quite limited but it can be quite versatile if you push it. The main appeal to me is the general sound, the chorus makes it "sound like a record".